close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

Laptop Starts Itself

Discussion in 'Tech Talk' started by Inyo Tim, Jul 10, 2011.

  1. Inyo Tim

    Inyo Tim Senior Moment

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2003
    Messages:
    2,323
    Likes Received:
    593
    Location:
    Eastern Sierra Nevada, Calif.
    Recently my Dell laptop has begun to start itself from standby. I'll put it in standy as normal, close the lid and later notice that the wireless card's lights are back on. When I open the lid, it then goes into standby again.
     
  2. barstoolguru

    barstoolguru texas proud

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2011
    Messages:
    2,434
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    dallas, tx
    does it watch porn by its too ?
     

  3. Detectorist

    Detectorist

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2008
    Messages:
    16,596
    Likes Received:
    5,747
    Location:
    Missouri
    What model is it and does it still have any warranty left?
     
  4. Inyo Tim

    Inyo Tim Senior Moment

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2003
    Messages:
    2,323
    Likes Received:
    593
    Location:
    Eastern Sierra Nevada, Calif.
    It's an Inspiron E1505 and the warranty is long expired. I read on line about laptops starting themselves from hibernation. I put mine in hibernation and it didn't start from there. Only from standby. It's not a big deal I guess if it won't hurt anything being on with the screen down. I guess I should add that my battery is dead and I'm running only on wall power.
     
  5. Sgt. Schultz

    Sgt. Schultz Annoying Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2004
    Messages:
    2,196
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    West Columbia, South Carolina
    Go to the properties of your network cards, the Power Management tab and change the option that allows the device to wake your system from standby.
     
  6. gemeinschaft

    gemeinschaft AKA Fluffy316

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2004
    Messages:
    2,202
    Likes Received:
    58
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    I would caution you not to carry this laptop in a bag while Hibernating or in Standby; shut it down before placing in a bag.

    I had a user at my work that was having this issue and they smelled something burning while driving. They pulled over to find that the laptop fried itself running in a bag in the trunk.

    Bad way to go in my opinion.
     
  7. Inyo Tim

    Inyo Tim Senior Moment

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2003
    Messages:
    2,323
    Likes Received:
    593
    Location:
    Eastern Sierra Nevada, Calif.
    Thanks for that tip gemeinschaft. I've had that happen once already. My flight was called and in my rush I went to standby instead of shutting it down. I guess I was lucky. A dead battery was all that happened.
    Sgt. Schultz, I'm not too computer savvy. I tried to get to properties and find my network cards without any luck. I get lost real quick when I go deep in the system.
     
  8. DOA33

    DOA33 Non-Registered

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2008
    Messages:
    134
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    burg, OH
    shoot it!!! It's skynet trying to take over the laptop.:50cal:
     
  9. Sgt. Schultz

    Sgt. Schultz Annoying Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2004
    Messages:
    2,196
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    West Columbia, South Carolina
    Go to Start->Run - type “devmgmt.msc” (without the quotes) and hit “OK” go to network adapters, open it and select your card - right click and select properties.
     
  10. Detectorist

    Detectorist

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2008
    Messages:
    16,596
    Likes Received:
    5,747
    Location:
    Missouri
    Should be under the 'Power Management' tab.

    Edit: Oops, Shultz already mentioned the proper tab.
     
    Last edited: Jul 10, 2011
  11. Inyo Tim

    Inyo Tim Senior Moment

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2003
    Messages:
    2,323
    Likes Received:
    593
    Location:
    Eastern Sierra Nevada, Calif.
    OK, I got in to my card but there is no power management tab. In advanced there is a "wake up mode" but I don't understand the options there.
     
  12. Inyo Tim

    Inyo Tim Senior Moment

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2003
    Messages:
    2,323
    Likes Received:
    593
    Location:
    Eastern Sierra Nevada, Calif.
    I tried it again and found the right spot. The "allow this computer to be brought out of standby" box was unchecked. Is there a mercury switch involved in starting the computer when the lid is opened?
     
  13. Detectorist

    Detectorist

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2008
    Messages:
    16,596
    Likes Received:
    5,747
    Location:
    Missouri
    Do you have a wireless mouse or wireless keyboard plugged in to the laptop?

    Just to let you know, this is one of the most difficult issues to deal with. It could be software, hardware, bloatware.....

    You can also try using System Restore to an earlier point where your laptop was acting normal.

    Can we assume no software or hardware was changed on the laptop just before this started happening?
     
    Last edited: Jul 12, 2011
  14. Inyo Tim

    Inyo Tim Senior Moment

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2003
    Messages:
    2,323
    Likes Received:
    593
    Location:
    Eastern Sierra Nevada, Calif.
    Detectorist, I just use the laptop as is with nothing attached. It's still doing it; today I noticed it was on and opened the lid. It then went into standby again like always. This time I shut the lid and it stayed on standby. This problem started maybe six months ago and has progressed from once a month to now all the time.
    Every summer I get ants living down inside the laptop. I've noticed them again lately. I don't know if an ant colony inside could screw things up.
    Edited to add: There has been no hardware or software change.
     
    Last edited: Jul 12, 2011
  15. hoven88

    hoven88 Wannabe

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2010
    Messages:
    515
    Likes Received:
    23
    Location:
    CA
    Its a ghost for sure.
     
  16. CitizenOfDreams

    CitizenOfDreams

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2009
    Messages:
    8,111
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    Orlando, FL
    It's a mechanical (or sometimes magnetic) proximity switch. They do go bad, and that could be your problem.
     
  17. Inyo Tim

    Inyo Tim Senior Moment

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2003
    Messages:
    2,323
    Likes Received:
    593
    Location:
    Eastern Sierra Nevada, Calif.
    Thanks Citizen of Dreams. And thanks to all of you computer savvy folks who take the time here to share your knowledge. This problem is something I can live with. I've always fixed my own gear when I could. Computers are just too high tech for me though.