Lame networking question.

Discussion in 'Tech Talk' started by BillCola, Sep 20, 2005.

  1. BillCola

    BillCola Supreme Cmdr ®

    Messages:
    487
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2000
    Location:
    Utopia
    Hi!

    In short, here's what I want to do:

    Run my Verizon broadband PCMCIA card on my desktop. I actually have a PCMCIA drive on my desktop, but it won't run this newer generation card, and only freaky little companies make these unpopular peripherals.

    So.... I want to run an old unused laptop in my office, running the wireless PC card...and run a cable to the desktop to use the internet connection from the laptop. The old laptop runs 98 (!!) and the desktop is XP Home. Should be simple, right?

    If you solve this for me, please send a portrait of yourself that I can display on my mantle. :)

    Thank you, Smart People!!

    Bill
     
  2. HerrGlock

    HerrGlock Scouts Out CLM

    Messages:
    23,804
    Likes Received:
    263
    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2000
    Windows answer:

    Make laptop share network connection.
    get crossover cable (any computer store will have one)
    make laptop's network (NOT the wireless card) card 192.168.0.1

    make desktop's ip 192.168.0.2 with default route 192.168.0.1
    plug in other side of cross over cable.

    NON-Windows answer:
    Drop some type of *NIX on it (fedora is easy, there are others) with the same networking as above and turn on firewalling

    make desktop the same as above.

    you would then also have a full firewall in front of your 'net connection.

    DanH
     

  3. pyblood

    pyblood

    Messages:
    499
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2003
    Location:
    Mississippi
    Do you want to just share files or share the internet connection? If you need a desktop NIC, I can send you one. Do you have a wireless router or just an access point? Do you have a regular network switch?
     
  4. HerrGlock

    HerrGlock Scouts Out CLM

    Messages:
    23,804
    Likes Received:
    263
    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2000
    Here were my assumptions, please tell me if they are incorrect:

    laptop has built in network port
    desktop has built in network port
    there is no hub or switch in your house
    the wirless you're talking about is verizon's wireless and the access point is NOT in your house.

    DanH
     
  5. BillCola

    BillCola Supreme Cmdr ®

    Messages:
    487
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2000
    Location:
    Utopia
    Whoa! I really appreciate the quick, thoughtful responses!!

    I only want to siphon the internet connection off the old laptop.

    I have NO wireless network (yet) the wireless of which I speak is all within the context of the Verizon card.

    I have an old 10baseT hub and cabling. (That's all I have)

    The SNAG is:

    I totally forgot that this laptop does NOT have a networking port...I used to use a PC card for networking. Ergo, having only one PC slot in the old laptop kind of wrecks my plan.

    I will have to find a solution using USB. I do have LAPLINK, and am installing it on the old machine now, to see if there is a solution there.

    What's a "desktop NIC"??


    Thanks!!!!
     
  6. HerrGlock

    HerrGlock Scouts Out CLM

    Messages:
    23,804
    Likes Received:
    263
    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2000
    NNNNNNNNNNOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO. Don't use it.



    Desktop network card.

    Go to CompUSA and get a USB network adaptor for the laptop. They're cheap and they're inexpensive, but they tend to work. You may have to load WIN2K to use it, though.

    Use your hub for the connection.
    DanH
     
  7. BillCola

    BillCola Supreme Cmdr ®

    Messages:
    487
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2000
    Location:
    Utopia
    Heh heh heh...I see you have some experience with LAPLINK!! ;P ;P

    Truly, their programmers should be IN CUSTODY.

    Believe it or not...after 10 upgrades...12.0 actually works.

    Lots of good money after bad, tho. :(
     
  8. HerrGlock

    HerrGlock Scouts Out CLM

    Messages:
    23,804
    Likes Received:
    263
    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2000
    I would rather transfer the 1s and 0s by hand, with a magnet, one byte at a time.

    DanH
     
  9. BillCola

    BillCola Supreme Cmdr ®

    Messages:
    487
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2000
    Location:
    Utopia
    LMAO!!!! ;f ;f ;f ;f ;z ;z ;z


    What would be ideal is a PCMCIA>USB drive. I can't believe I can't find this. :( :(
     
  10. Wulfenite

    Wulfenite The King

    Messages:
    1,862
    Likes Received:
    5
    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2000
    Location:
    Pretty Fly for a White Guy
    Did you ever investigate whether or not Dell could build you a desktop with a pcmcia slot.
     
  11. BillCola

    BillCola Supreme Cmdr ®

    Messages:
    487
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2000
    Location:
    Utopia
    Oops..that never made it into long term memory! ;P Thanks
     
  12. BillCola

    BillCola Supreme Cmdr ®

    Messages:
    487
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2000
    Location:
    Utopia
  13. Wulfenite

    Wulfenite The King

    Messages:
    1,862
    Likes Received:
    5
    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2000
    Location:
    Pretty Fly for a White Guy
    Did you talk them into an exclusive retail marketing agreement....or better yet, rights to sell them to verizon.