close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

Know anything about RAID 0 and Hard Drives?

Discussion in 'Tech Talk' started by newshooter.45, Jan 31, 2007.

  1. newshooter.45

    newshooter.45

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2005
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    WNC
    See if I can make this make sense.

    I previously had 2 160gig HDs set up RAID 0. One drive failed and I reformated the working one and reinstalled windows and all my apps.

    I just purchased 2 250gig HDs to set up RAID 0 (again) and a backup 500gig HD to mirror the RAID 0 configuration. Can this be done somewhat easily? Does anyone see any problem with this?
     
  2. Blitzer

    Blitzer Cool Cat

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2004
    Messages:
    12,111
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    The communist's play ground of OHIO
    Nope! Read the links about RAID types on the site below. RAID 1 is recommended for the cheapest safe data storage system. RAID 2 is no longer used and 3 is better for speed and ease of rebuilding data.

    RAID 0 is not really a RAID system as it involves no redundancy. The data is striped to multiple drives and not duplicated on them. It is for speed not safety using a special data striping technique.

    http://www.pcguide.com/ref/hdd/perf/raid/levels/singleLevel0-c.html
     

  3. Patrick Graham

    Patrick Graham Footlong Jr.

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2001
    Messages:
    1,953
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Kokomo Indiana
    Good question..

    Can you make a Raid array using a Raid array and a single drive?

    As long as neither is the system drive .. can Windows make a Dynamic drive from one raid array and 1 single drive? I don't know for sure but if I had to guess I'd say no..

    As for no redundancy.. we should be backing up are data anyway so why not shoot for speed...??..
     
  4. newshooter.45

    newshooter.45

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2005
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    WNC
    Well, I seem to think it can be done still. I mean, I have the two 250G hard drives which combine for a 500G RAID 0 HD. AND, I'll have a seperate 500G drive which is not part of the RAID 0. This 500G HD will be used to back up the data on the RAID 0. So while the two 250G HDs create a RAID 0 configuration, the 500G will give me the piece of mind of having my data backed up. I just don't know if I can have it "mirror" the RAID 0. I may have to perform a daily backup onto the seperate drive.

    Any more thoughts on this?
     
  5. UtahIrishman

    UtahIrishman BLR Silver Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2001
    Messages:
    7,414
    Likes Received:
    1,995
    Location:
    Utah
    "mirroring" a drive is essentially an automatic backup system. You can get software that will do this or you can use the backup software that comes with Windows and setup a scheduled task to run it once a day or however often you want it to run.

    It shouldn't matter whether the drives you are mirroring from are in a raid configuration or not.
     
  6. newshooter.45

    newshooter.45

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2005
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    WNC
    Yeah, thats what I was thinking. Good to hear! Thanks.
     
  7. Dandapani

    Dandapani

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2004
    Messages:
    8,216
    Likes Received:
    12
    Location:
    Gulf side Florida
    Nicely said. Wished I had jumped in sooner :)

    My Palm PDA note I made years ago for RAID says:

    "RAID-0: disk striping w/out parity; high performance / low-availability" :wavey:
     
  8. greenlead

    greenlead

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2004
    Messages:
    326
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    NE Indiana
    It sounds like you're looking for RAID 5.
     
  9. Blitzer

    Blitzer Cool Cat

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2004
    Messages:
    12,111
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    The communist's play ground of OHIO
    It appears he didn't read the link to the resource I provided. :upeyes: