Knife noob - tactical fixed blade with....

Discussion in 'The Cutting Edge' started by ISYN, Mar 29, 2020.

1. ISYN

ISYN

Kydex sheath and fire starter kit.

I am looking for a knife to have in my everyday carry bag. I'm new to this but I'm wanting a nice, dependable knife that I can attach to my bag that has some survival attributes.

Thanks for the help guys.

2. skyfall

skyfall

The OEM Glock knife is not expensive and is a good quality knife to keep in your survival bag.

3. lazarus66

lazarus66

A Randall No.1 and a Zippo would be my choice.

ISYN likes this.
  4. sciolist

sciolist On the Border

If you're leaning more toward the cutting performance side, probably BRK. For more on the abusive side, Busse.

IMG_3089s.jpg

ISYN likes this.
  5. I am Groot!

I am Groot!

I use the Gerber model BMF (Basic Multi Function) knife. The sheath has a secured empty pocket where I keep a fire starter kit and a compass. It also has its own diamond sharpener built into the sheath.
    It doesn't need a saw back on the top/back of its blade because it is thick and heavy enough to hack and chop very well.
    You can Google it for pictures and info.
    I think it is no longer made but maybe you can find something with a built in pocket similar to this one.

Bus007 and ISYN like this.
  6. Kentguy

Kentguy

Cold Steel SRK compact in SK-5 - great knife, very reasonably priced for what you are looking for.

I don't have a pic but I'm sure you can find one on amazon.com or knifeCenter.com

ISYN likes this.
  7. ronin.45

ronin.45

Don't look for a firestarter with the knife. Focus on getting a good knife and then buy a firestarter. No sense limiting your knife selection just because of a cheap accessory.

8. Gino

Gino Millennium Member