kimber 10 or glock 10?

Discussion in 'General Glocking' started by cgcox, Jun 20, 2005.

1. cgcox

cgcox

Good day, this is my first time on the forum. Iam looking at buying a pistol in 10 mm and I think Ihave it narrowed down to two choices. Either a kimber ecliipse 5" or a glock g20. It will be primarily used as a backpack gun (we are not allowed to carry up here).I am more familiar with the 1911 style (IPSC IDPA competing) but I am interested by the simplicity of the glock. I do a lot of back country hunting float planes and river boats. So far this year there has been 3 people ate by bears up here. Any one have any ideas or advice?

2. j doty

j doty

Both are made by excellent companies. Glock has more experience w/the 10 mm, I believe,though. For a Grizzly gun, you may want to consider a wheelgun with more juice, like the new Ruger .460 or a good old .44 mag. It's a shame though that a killing machine like a Grizzly is allowed to carry his weapons wherever he goes, but law-abiding Canadians are not.

3. LITTLEMAN151

LITTLEMAN151

g20 hands down it's more reliable, can carry more ammo(15+1), you do not have to worry about trying to flip off an external saftey in a stressful situation. i'd even suggest going to a 6" double action wheel gun in either .44mag or .45lc if your in bear country, just my 2 cents worth.

4. Soldat

Soldat Big Dwarf Rodeo

I second the G20. Out of the 3 Kimbers my Brother, Brother in law, and I have had, all three have given us problems. From FTE's to a new gun starting to rust after only being carried a few times. We have never had any problems with our Glocks and out of all the guns we own they get carried and used most.

Spend half the money and get twice the gun. ;c

5. wyatt55

wyatt55