close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

Just starting out, what do you think?

Discussion in 'Through-the-Lens Club' started by havensal, Apr 5, 2007.

1. havensal

havensal Senior Nozzle Jockey CLM

I just got my new Canon A630 Tuesday, so I figured I would take it for a walk and test it out. The weather wasn't the best, very overcast, almost raining.

Here are a few I took. I used Gimp to bring out the colors a little bit better.

Please let me know what you like, dislike. I am just getting started in the whole photography stuff.

As you can tell I like nature photography the best.

Here is the original.
    [​IMG]

This has been Gimped.
    [​IMG]

This looks closer to what I remember the scene actually looking like. The only good result of the overcast sky's is I can decrease the shutter speed to get the water flow better. I like the "milky" look. :thumbsup: :)

2. havensal

Here are another pair I liked.

Original
    [​IMG]

Gimped
    [​IMG]

It looks like I adjusted the hue a little to much and whitened it to much. What do you think?

3. TBO

TBO Why so serious? CLM

1504 South 7th Street, Minneapolis, MN 55454
    [​IMG]

With my tweaks

4. ponykilr

ponykilr Off The Porch

The composition is great. The execution is great. The gimping is not so great. The originals look better to me(art is in the eye of the viewer as well as the creator) but lacked the strong contrast that I love. The BadOne nailed it. Great shots to be sure, and with a P&S to boot. Good work.

One other little thing, the little twig in the very first shot is very distracting.

5. havensal

Thanks. This was the first time I ever used Gimp. I still have a lot of learning to do. All of the originals looked to dark and dreary to me. But like you said, beauty is in the eye of the beholder. :)

The next sunny day I am going to try them again and see it the results are better.

6. ponykilr

ponykilr Off The Porch