close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

Just ordered a DVD Burner...

Discussion in 'Tech Talk' started by feetpiece, Sep 1, 2004.

  1. feetpiece

    feetpiece Unforgiven

    Messages:
    220
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2003
    Location:
    FT Campbell
  2. G20man32904

    G20man32904 Deceased

    Messages:
    1,077
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    May 26, 2003
    Location:
    Melbourne, Fl
    Very nice Feet,
    I just got the sony installed yesterday with the same spec's.
    I however got mine from Circuit city for $159 with a $30 rebate...;Q
    didnt cost me a dime though I got it in trade for an old 1.4 athlon box I had sitting around ;f
    When you install it pay attention to the jumper settings I totally forgot about those and screwed up my install really well. took 2 days instead of 30 mins.;Q
     

  3. Furant

    Furant Millennium Member

    Messages:
    441
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 14, 1999
    Location:
    Roswell, GA
    Yep. I've been amazed how quickly they have come down in price too. I just received and installed a Lite-On SOHW-832S. This one is x8, +/-R, +/-RW and can write double layer (8.4 GB, I think).

    I'm thoroughly pleased with it so far, although I haven't tried the dual-layer writing yet.

    BTW, picked that one up for $84.99.
     
  4. RaiderRodney

    RaiderRodney Just Win Baby

    Messages:
    515
    Likes Received:
    25
    Joined:
    May 22, 2003
    Location:
    North Carolina
    Oh yeah, you will love that burner. I still have one of the slower 4x burners, but I still love it! Only thing is, now I will want one of those dual-layer burners :(
     
  5. Medpilot 2

    Medpilot 2 Smkumifyagotum

    Messages:
    434
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2003
    Location:
    Phoenix
    Hey guys, question here


    I'd like to burn some home movies that I have on VHS on to DVD, but I'm not sure what kind of video card I need. Would I need one with a TV tuner? Or just a video input?

    I know I would need to replace the video card I have now. I think it only has a video out.

    Some help?

    Thanks,

    :)
     
  6. feetpiece

    feetpiece Unforgiven

    Messages:
    220
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2003
    Location:
    FT Campbell
    I initially built my machine to do just that - turn my Hi-8 videos into DVD's. I've got an old MSI GForce3 Ti-200 with video in/out. The only problem is encoding(digitizing) the analog footage in the best possible format prior to editing. This being AVI but windows has a 4 gig file size limit and a 15 min video can exceed 20 gigs. To overcome this limit I used VirtualDub. I'm a bit rusty because I haven't messed with it in about two years so I can't go into detail about how it works.


    Basically all you'd need is a video card with video in capability, a BIG HD for your media, virtualdub and editing software like Premier Pro. I have no experience with Pinnacle or Dazzle, just Premier, Avid, and (Leitch) DPS VelocityQ.




    It can be done but it is a hobbie in and of itself...
     
  7. Medpilot 2

    Medpilot 2 Smkumifyagotum

    Messages:
    434
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2003
    Location:
    Phoenix
    feetpiece--

    Thanks for the info, I didn't know about the windows limitation concerning AVI file formates.

    I have a 200GB HD, so it looks like I'm okay in that department.
     
  8. saber41

    saber41 Guest

    Lite-On drives are great, I've purchased several of them from NewEgg including a DVD-RW, never had a problem with them.
     
  9. chevrofreak

    chevrofreak Senior Member

    Messages:
    2,696
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2001
    Location:
    Billings, Montana

    I use WinDVD Creator 2, with the capture format set as HQ DVD. The quality is amazing, and the file size for an entire 2 hour DVD is well under 10 gigs.
     
  10. grantglock

    grantglock /dev/null

    Messages:
    219
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2004
    Location:
    Iowa
    I need a new one, last night i tossed my laptop onto the couch while hitting the eject button, it busted the tray in half and cut the cable that runs the laser. 1 month old laptop with a dual layer burner, I'm pissed.
     
  11. feetpiece

    feetpiece Unforgiven

    Messages:
    220
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2003
    Location:
    FT Campbell
    Well it FINALLY made it in yesterday and I swapped it out with my plain CD-ROM drive. This is great, I can "watch" LOTR while surfing. All I need now is a minifridge next to my desk....
     
  12. mc_oliver

    mc_oliver

    Messages:
    3,499
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2002
    Location:
    Philippines
    Noob questions guys.

    Do all DVD-writers also able to write to ordinary CD-R's? How about +R and -R media, what's the difference aside from the price?

    Thanks a lot.
     
  13. Jtemple

    Jtemple Geek

    Messages:
    788
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2002
    Location:
    NE
    I'm fairly new to the world of DVD burning myself (I'm an old salt when it comes to CD burning, however).

    DVD burners can burn CD-R disks as well as CD-RW disks, in most cases. It should be fairly simple to find that information out before you buy a drive.

    As far as your DVD+R/DVD-R question, this link might answer that:

    http://www.monroeworld.com/dvd/overview.htm