Just Opened Scottrade Account Suggestions

Discussion in 'The Okie Corral' started by smack-o, Feb 18, 2010.

1. smack-o

smack-o

I just opened a Scottrade account yesterday, I deposited $3,000. I would like to hear any suggestions anyone mat have as I am totally new to stocks. I would prefer to not lose the 3k but I am considering it a learning exp. and the money isnt significant enough to me to stress over.

2. prism

prism more ammo

buy some of your local electric company. watch the dividends roll in, and see how news affects their stock price and the price they charge you.

3. BigDaddyK

BigDaddyK

Wait for Toyota to tank after all of the recalls coming out and then buy low.

edited to add that that was just a semi-joke. I haven't been following Toyota's stock price.

Last edited: Feb 18, 2010
  4. user

user VaLegalDefense

Look for stocks that pay dividends with a yield well above the rate at which the currency is being devalued, on the theory that even if the dollar value of these declines, they'll still pay for themselves over time. The yield is expressed as a percentage of the current market price, so it reflects a ratio rather than an absolute number.

Secondly, look for stocks with a low price-to-earnings ratio as a guide to valuation (i.e., whether the stock's a bargain or not). That means that the cost of the stock is relatively low, compared to the amount of the company's income. Anything above about six or eight is already overvalued, in my opinion. (That means that the purchase price of the stock is six or eight times the value of the company's earnings per share.)