close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

Just moved up....

Discussion in 'Moto Club' started by dropfree, Apr 16, 2006.

1. dropfree

dropfree

Hi all....
    I just thought I'd throw a thread out there and say hi. I've been riding an old K75 for a few years and recently got the itch to move up to something a little newer. So far I can't pry myself away. Does the addiction to riding ever go away??? :) Whatcha think?
    Thanks!

[​IMG]

2. fnfalman

fnfalman Chicks Dig It

Once you do Beemer, you don't go back.:cool:

Have you already bought this thing or still contemplating. Because if you're tall enough you should consider the Boxer Cup Replika, especially the 2004 model. The upgraded suspension is worth the extra money.

3. dropfree

dropfree

I know.....and I've been drooling over the red white and blue paint scheme for some time now. That picture is actually in my driveway. It's a pretty low mileage 2004. I've heard a lot of recommendations to upgrade to Ohlins suspension. Do you think it's worth the money?
    -Jay

4. fnfalman

fnfalman Chicks Dig It

The Ohlins are expensive and good. As far as if they're worth the money, that's something that you'll have to decide.

I'd suggest Works Performance Shocks products before Ohlins. Don't get me wrong, Ohlins are the world's standards when it comes to premium suspension and they are recognized as such for a reason. But for certain things, you can get stuff that are almost as good or just as good for a lot less money. Works Performance is very well respected for their offroad suspension AND for making a lot of BMW suspensions. They make shocks only and they make a lot of rear shocks for other bikes too, but it seems like they are very knowledgeable with BMW shocks (one for the front and one for the rear). For around a hair less than $1200 you can get both the front and rear. Price out Ohlins and it's more like $1800 or more.