Just got a Glock 17..I'm a convert, Glock is #1 !!

Discussion in 'General Glocking' started by Ravekid, Oct 28, 2008.

Tags:
  1. Ravekid

Ravekid Guest

A few weeks ago I pretty much solidified my view of the best handgun to get being a Glock. I have always thought Glocks were above average pistols, but what happened at the range pretty much slide me over to the Glock being the #1 pistol I would recommend to someone. My gun goals are not that massive. I personally just want to have a one handgun for the three major semi-auto calibers: .45, 9mm, and .40. I work as an LEO and our cheap department issued S&W Sigmas. I had two failures of the first generation Sigmas (as well as other officers), so I purchased an HK UPS. The HK USP pistol is a great gun. I pretty much only personally recommend Glock and HK USP. That being said, the HKs are costly, so after carrying my Compact .40, I opted to sell it and get a Glock 22 because I could get the Glock discount and the Glock had a universal light mount where the HK USP just had to be different from the standard (there is now a special mount for conversion). I have never had any problems with my Glock. One time, I discovered my USP was rusting on the under body part of the slide. As our department would shoot in Nov./Dec. and start up again in March/April, I neglected checking the USP. Well, working in the snow, obviously some snow got on the back of the gun and slide down the rails. Lucky it was only surface rust and it came off. My Glock has never been a problem in the rust category. Well, what pushed me over the edge was when I shot a Taurus 92 AF 9mm. I purchased this gun for $375 five years ago and had never shot it. I think the AF production run had an issue, because right after I purchased it at the gun show, I saw a gun store selling the same model as "clearance" for $325. When I shot the Taurus, it shot _way_ left. My boss/instructor, who can shoot with the best of them, moved my rear sight to correct the issue. The