Joggers...how far/fast is considered normal??

Discussion in 'The Okie Corral' started by Sabetsu, Jan 4, 2010.

1. Sabetsu

Sabetsu New Guy

I only ask because I've been jogging for three years, ever since quitting smoking (after smoking for 13 years, since I was a teen) and I consider myself to be average enough. I can run a 7-minute mile...barely...and I run two miles in just a shade over sixteen minutes. I can easily run five or more consecutive 10-minute miles. I'm certainly not trying to become some marathon or competitive runner, but I'd like to consider myself relatively in shape.

Then I hear about guys I didn't consider particularly fit, running six 8-minute miles in a row and I have to think...is something wrong with me, or are these guys BS'ing me?

What's considered normal for "runners," and what should an average hobby-jogger be covering? I'm just curious to see what the other joggers on GT think is the going rate.

Thanks!

2. rtl

rtl Robby The Guy Millennium Member

Everybody is diff. When i was young i was always the fat slow kid, but in my 20s i got into running a bit. After a year or so i managed a 6 min mile, sub 7 min pace 2 mile, sub 8 min pace 5 mile, and sub 8.5 min pace on a 10 mile. Not a big deal for many, but accomplishments Ive been proud of. My friend however ran 10 miles at a 515 pace. I would never ever be able to run like him, but still was happy with where i was. Enjoy the exercise and dont worry about whos fastest.

Last edited: Jan 4, 2010

3. Just1More

Just1More

I can run 1 mile in the 7's. But when I run a longer distance (say 3 miles), I run more like mid-9's/10's. I'm in decent shape.

My wife ran a half-marathon in October and averaged 9 minute miles.

4. HerrGlock

HerrGlock Scouts Out CLM

Until you start getting into sub 3 hour marathons or 6 minute miles during an Ironman Triathlon, don't sweat it.