Is you job your "life"? Should it be?

Discussion in 'The Okie Corral' started by ExxoticOne, Oct 5, 2010.

1. ExxoticOne

ExxoticOne

How emotionally invested are you in your job? Is it "the most fullfilling thing in the world" to you? Or, is it what you do to get the bills paid and LIVE your life? Or is there some happy medium for you?

2. Santa CruZin

Santa CruZin Searching

It's a balance. I'm good at what I do and it's stimulating so I enjoy it. I do not live for it, however. 45-50 hours a week is enough for me and then it's play time and I forget all about it.

How about you?

3. slick64

slick64

I've been doing the same thing now for almost 12 yrs on the same account, although I recently went from being an engineer to a business development manager, I happen to enjoy my job, as well as my time away from work, even though they overlap at times.

I would think that my friends don't define my by what I what do and thats what is important to me in the end.

4. Short Bus

Short Bus

I used to be totally consumed in it. Now, not so much. I still enjoy most every day that I am there, and love what I do. I wouldn't say it is my life though.

5. NeverMore1701

NeverMore1701 Fear no Evil Platinum Member

6. ExxoticOne

ExxoticOne

I keep myself entertained at work. I enjoy it. While I didn't get into this for the money it keeps me comfy and self sufficient. I'm not hurting for toys or luxury items. It is not my life but it is a big part of my heart, if that makes any sense. My life is about me, my heart is what I can do for others. Hard to articulate.

7. GeorgiaRedfish

GeorgiaRedfish Senior Member

I do obsess with not being late, I obsess about doing good work, and I do obsess about doing things the right way. When I leave though I don't think about it and I have my own life. That is how I have been in every job. I have loved every job, but one I have worked at. You tell me is it my life? I have no idea. Take into consideration these have all been "College Jobs"