close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

Is this so freaking hard???

Discussion in 'Tech Talk' started by WolfmanGK, Aug 18, 2004.

  1. WolfmanGK

    WolfmanGK Super Plump

    Messages:
    1,737
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2000
    Location:
    Northern Dakota
    Ok check it out. Say I want to back up 1.2 gigs of data on a standard CD burner using 80 minute discs. Why can't someone in cd authoring software land make it so that it fills up the first disc, spits it out, then writes the rest of the data on another disc(s)? Instead of saying "Please insert a disc with enough space on it" or whatever, just fill the one disc up, and ask for another disc, and put the rest of the crap on that disc, or 3 discs, or 10 discs, whatever. I am sick of trying to put exactly 700 megs on a disc, remembering where I left off, etc. Is that so hard?
     
  2. NetNinja

    NetNinja Always Faithful

    Messages:
    967
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2001
    Location:
    HotLanta, GA

  3. gudel

    gudel

    Messages:
    486
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2001
    if i was to do this, i'd use msbackup, make it to span at 650mb or so.

    other solution is to get yourself a dvd burner. i back up 4gig data one single disc :)
     
  4. prism

    prism more ammo

    Messages:
    1,477
    Likes Received:
    53
    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2002
    Location:
    Indiana
    you need a "file splitter" program. I used one to move a file from a computer with no cd burner; used multiple floppy disks.

    split the large file into smaller chunks, burn them to cd.

    go to download.com and search the download section for "file splitter". you will find several programs that give trials (try-before-you-buy), and a few free ones. look at the ratings. if they are mostly thumbs-down, pick a different program.
     
  5. Halo

    Halo Millennium Member

    Messages:
    222
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 2, 1999
    Location:
    Charlotte, NC
    I believe Nero has the option to span discs. BackupMyPC does it as well.
     
  6. WolfmanGK

    WolfmanGK Super Plump

    Messages:
    1,737
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2000
    Location:
    Northern Dakota
    Thanks guys. I remember older versions of windows would let you do this with floppy discs.