close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

Is this normal?

Discussion in 'Tech Talk' started by pascal, Jul 2, 2006.

  1. pascal

    pascal

    Messages:
    786
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2006
    Hello,
    Recently purchased a new machine with a new 2 me XP Home SP2. Is it normal for the soundcard to produce noise when the owner account is logged in and changed to another user, in the other user's session? If the owner account is turned off it does not happen.
    Rather annoying and seems to defeat the use.
    TIA
     
  2. fastvfr

    fastvfr Ancient Tech

    Messages:
    2,344
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2001
    Location:
    SW Oregon
    Nope.

    To find out what card you have, R. Click My Computer icon and select Properties> Hardware (tab)> Device Manager> Sound.

    It should show there. You might have to replace the card, but a newer driver could fix things.

    One final fix is to re-install it into a different PCI slot; XP will see it as a new component and will give it a different IRQ addy.

    IRQ conflict is the most common reason for fruity soundcards, BTW.

    Good luck, and let us know if that doesn't get it fixed for you.
     

  3. pascal

    pascal

    Messages:
    786
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2006
    Hello fastvfr,
    I'll look into that. I bought the computer complete and will probably just let them fix it!!! Never used XP or multiple concurrent logons. Thanks for the reply and heads up.
     
  4. fastvfr

    fastvfr Ancient Tech

    Messages:
    2,344
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2001
    Location:
    SW Oregon
    You're welcome. What brand is it, and where did you get it?
     
  5. pascal

    pascal

    Messages:
    786
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2006
    Hello fastvfr,
    It's an Acer. The card is a Reatek and I downloaded some new driver, the XP hardware driver update didn't find any. But the version is a little old. Maybe I'll try to install it.
     
  6. malkore

    malkore

    Messages:
    434
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2005
    Location:
    Lincoln, NE
    make sure yer not getting feedback from the microphone input.

    it may be un-muted for the owner, but muted by default for other accounts, or set quieter so you don't hear it.

    cuz yes, that'd be very odd for only one Windows login to cause audible noise when nothing should be playing.
     
  7. pascal

    pascal

    Messages:
    786
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2006
    Hello malkore,
    I'd like to look into that as I did upgrade the driver's (no help). Could you expound on the method??? Thanks...
     
  8. fastvfr

    fastvfr Ancient Tech

    Messages:
    2,344
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2001
    Location:
    SW Oregon
    If there's no sound icon (little speaker) you have to navigate Start> Control Panel> Sounds and Audio Devices> Audio and select Volume under Input or Microphone.

    Or click the little speaker. Then Mute the offending microphone until it is needed.
     
  9. malkore

    malkore

    Messages:
    434
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2005
    Location:
    Lincoln, NE
    fast is right, under control panel, Sound Settings, go into volume control.

    might even have to use the Advanced volume stuff..sometimes the microphone volume slider is hidden, so the mute button won't be visible.
     
  10. pascal

    pascal

    Messages:
    786
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2006
    Thanks fastvfr and malkore,
    It was hidden and muted. Will have to keep digging I quess. Any more ideas welcome.
     
  11. malkore

    malkore

    Messages:
    434
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2005
    Location:
    Lincoln, NE
    what about the other volume settings? if the speaker volume is wicked high you might just be hearing a hiss.

    otherwise...i'm clueless. do you have more than one Windows account besides the admin accoun tyou can test and see if it also is silent?
     
  12. pascal

    pascal

    Messages:
    786
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2006
    Hello,
    Found out the place I bought it will have it for longer than a day to evaluate. So I'm investigating myself for awhile.
    Noticed that with two accounts open, the sound (hiss) does not occur until dialup for internet. Also noted that on exiting the account a program sm56help improperly halts. If I stop that program from running the noise ceases. And I believe if I stop it and then dial up the noise does not occur. Can't put the pieces together yet.
    Any ideas/explanations and WAG's appreciated.
     
  13. fastvfr

    fastvfr Ancient Tech

    Messages:
    2,344
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2001
    Location:
    SW Oregon
    Only when online?!

    Sounds like a Voice Modem issue, in that case...turn off the modem's ability to use the speaks for dial tone, voice ect.

    That'll get it.
     
  14. fastvfr

    fastvfr Ancient Tech

    Messages:
    2,344
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2001
    Location:
    SW Oregon
  15. pascal

    pascal

    Messages:
    786
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2006
    Exquisitely simple. AND it seems to work. Thank you kind sir!!!!!!
    Thumbs up -- Tech Talk
     
  16. fastvfr

    fastvfr Ancient Tech

    Messages:
    2,344
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2001
    Location:
    SW Oregon
    My pleasure. Glad to be able to help.