Is the Glock Knife Any Good as a Combat Knife?

Discussion in 'General Glocking' started by DonGlock26, Jul 11, 2007.

1. DonGlock26

DonGlock26

Is the Glock Knife Any Good as a Combat Knife?

I'm looking for a good fix blade knife, and I thought I would ask about the Glock Knife, first. Any other suggestions are most welcome.

2. epsylum

epsylum Guest

Depends on what you want to do with it. I got mine for free for working at a GSSF match. It is a decent knife. Lots of people get them for truck or beater knives and IMO that is a great role for them.

IIRC they were made for the Austrian military, so I would think it was at least half-way capable of being a "combat knife".

Bottom line is that they are a pretty good deal for the <$30 most places want for them.

3. OKgetdown

OKgetdown Dumb Ape

I just got one the other day. It seems like a fairly well made knife. Having said that I'm not an expert. But for the money I would definetly get one or two.:thumbsup:

4. mitchshrader

mitchshrader Deceased

as a sharpened crowbar. good utility knife. jam through sheet metal, cut wire, dig holes.

ugly, hard to keep really sharp, you won't break it.

alternatives: Ontario or Camillus AF Pilots Survival Knife for sturdy utility.

combat knife is a vague definition. a 10$ china clone bowie, with an edge on it, will work fine. no need for special steel.

i like the Sykes Fairbairn (original) dagger, S&W boot knives, the Case XX Bowie (is on pattern of Aussie pilots knife)

but the one i carry in the woods is the Ontario Pilots Survival Knife.

it's a hair fatter than the glock knife and a bit shorter. similar in utility and US milspec, hard to beat.

5. walkin' trails

walkin' trails