close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

is big head on a beer good?

Discussion in 'Food Forum' started by 97guns, Dec 26, 2005.

1. 97guns

97guns

ive been pouring my beer into a frozen mug lately (easier to slam quickly) and noticed some stuff heads up alot more than others. although some of the headier stuff is big i can still keep it down by pouring slowly at an angle. just wondering what all this means

2. noway

noway

Generally I don't like a head on my beers. A big head is not okay in my book unless it dissipate quick. You did find out that the rate you pour does effect the the head. The head is caused by air mixing in with the bear when pouring.

3. General Sherman

General Sherman

I am not an expert by any means, but what I read about brewing beer, the makers look to produce a big head. It is an indication of quality.

I do like my brew to have fizz and bubbles. I feel that it helps my stomach (expand). ;f

4. PDogSniper

PDogSniper

A big head results in less carbonation (flat) in the beer. This may be good in preventing bloating whilst drinking mega mugs but personally I like the carbonation... The flavor is different to me.

If I pour into a mug I pour gentley down the side. If I drink from a bottle (never a can) I make sure that the pour level of the beer never exceeds the mouth of the bottle...

5. noway

noway

More importantly is NOT the size of the head but how quick it dissipate. Right now I pour a stein of Michelob Amber Bock and the little head that forms goaways very quickly. fwiw, you can't drink a head ;)

6. PDogSniper

PDogSniper

I ain't even touching that one...;f

7. antediluvianist

antediluvianist

The Head is a sign that various gasses which are naturally dissolved inside the beer have escaped, and the effect is that the beer becomes more bitter. That's what a brewer told me, although I don't have a sophisticated enough beer palate to tell the difference.

8. Remander

Remander