Glock Talk banner

Info on parachute riggers or logistics

1335 Views 12 Replies 10 Participants Last post by  Bren
I am a usmc vet, combat engineer. My son just recently enter the delayed entry program but has yet to pick an mos, unfortunately he failed the color blind test at meps, so his selection is limited. Looking for info on parachute rigging 0451 or any of the other logistic mos’s to help him narrow down his selection.
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

· Registered
149 Posts
I am a usmc vet, combat engineer. My son just recently enter the delayed entry program but has yet to pick an mos, unfortunately he failed the color blind test at meps, so his selection is limited. Looking for info on parachute rigging 0451 or any of the other logistic mos’s to help him narrow down his selection.
Semper Fi, Brother. I don’t have a lot of info for you, but I would tell him to consider an MOS that has a good civilian equivalent. I don’t know what logistics MOSs are available, but think shipping and receiving.

· Registered
11,371 Posts
Well I would ask so the Marine Corps did not work out as a career, what job in the civilian world needs a Parachute Rigger.

Logistic is not a bad choice, as there is work in the civilian world for people with logistic skill.

· NRA Life Member
801 Posts
I didn't serve in the Marines, but your son cannot go wrong with a MOS in logistics like Jarine88 and Glock-O-Rican stated above since the field has jobs that are directly applicable to the civilian sector. American Military University has three bachelor's degree programs (see links below) focused on logistics, so encourage him to consider taking college courses while he's serving to get a jump start on a degree.

B.A. in Supply Chain Management
B.A. in Reverse Logistics Management
B.A. in Transportation and Logistics Management

· Registered
8,591 Posts
... Looking for info on parachute rigging 0451 or any of the other logistic mos’s to help him narrow down his selection.