close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

Indoor GSSG events - 10 ring(s) visibility

Discussion in 'GSSF' started by cc rider, Aug 20, 2006.

1. cc rider

cc rider

Good morning all. I am pretty new to shooting (11 months) and enjoying it a lot. I have a brother who is well-qualified to teach me defensive shooting with my G19, G27, and G22. We use an outdoor range he built with many plate targets, etc.
    My issue is with the indoor targets used for the Glock shoots at my local gunclub. I will be 60 in Dec. and wear high-quality, progressive trifocals. At the last match I shot 26 out of 30 within the ten rings and 4 just over into the eight ring (but I'm getting better). The main problem comes at 25 yards. I can just barely make out the ten rings because of the light ink color used.
    Has there ever been serious consideration to making the rings darker or changing the order of shooting on target #2 to 15 yds prior to 25 yds.? If not, is it because the target color/order of shooting is unchangeable or has the issue never been brought up? And if there is no hope of change, do any of you senior shooters have some helpful hints?
    Thanks in advance for any help.

2. ede

ede Bama's Friend

i doubt anyone can really see them, not clearly. you might get an idea or figure out part of the circle. what i do is picture the target folded from top to botton and then again from side to side, where the folds cross will be the middle. at 75' you have 30 seconds for 10 rounds, that's pleanty of time to find the center. i can't see bullet holes very well at 75', yellow glasses will help.

3. cc rider

cc rider

Thank you, sir...I will take your advice and report back.

4. vmw

vmw