Glock Forum - GlockTalk banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
802 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi all,

I am no fireplace expert--I toured a victorian style home (for sale) that is 100+ years old yesterday. The agent that showed me around stated that the fireplaces are functional, but only for coal. He said wood possibly creates too much smoke (he didn't sound too sure of his rationale). My question is...Is this true? If so, what would need to be done to the chimney to make it safe for wood burning?

Thanks

·
Enslaved in IL
5,775 Posts
Hi all,

I am no fireplace expert--I toured a victorian style home (for sale) that is 100+ years old yesterday. The agent that showed me around stated that the fireplaces are functional, but only for coal. He said wood possibly creates too much smoke (he didn't sound too sure of his rationale). My question is...Is this true? If so, what would need to be done to the chimney to make it safe for wood burning?

Thanks
coal makes less smoke, from what I was always told. Probably has to do with the venting.

·
Registered
313 Posts
The house I was raised in had a coal fireplace. I don't know if it could do wood or not, we always used coal. This was back in the fifties. We used a differant type coal than what was used in the household furnace. I can't give too many details, I was only a little kid at the time.

·
Registered
30,883 Posts
Coal is good because it pisses off hippies. I say burn coal. Just keep a loaded shotgun in case manbearpig comes to get you.

·
Banned
3,031 Posts
I would think that any coal stove would have to be good for burning wood too. It is not all that easy to get coal to burn. Back in my childhood home we had to start stove with wood, get it burning well and only then load coal on top of wood.

·
Registered
573 Posts