In today's economy, is $15/hour a decent job?

Discussion in 'The Okie Corral' started by Idontplaynice, Mar 4, 2010.

1. Idontplaynice

Idontplaynice

Let's say living in Anytown, Texas and being single with no dependents or really bad habits (except for guns)

2. skanless

skanless IPA ISLAND

$15 is better that $0 :wavey:

3. RCP

RCP

Sounds good, better than collecting unemployment

4. HKUSP45Css

HKUSP45Css

In Texas, unemployment is paying about 12 an hour.

Asking if a salary is "good" or not is a whole lot like asking if a tattoo hurts. You're going to get many different answers from people in different places in thier life.

If I had to live on 15 an hour I would have to COMPLETELY revamp my entire way of life. I would not be able to even nearly survive on that kinda dough.

When I lived in New Orleans 15 years ago that would have been a King's ransom, however.

5. SIERRA SIX

SIERRA SIX

I wish i got $15.00 an hour!

6. MedicOni

MedicOni

I'm an EMT, I will never make that much unless I work for a hospital or as a hosemonkey, so I say yea it's good

7. captainstormy

captainstormy

In today's economy any job is a decent job. My fiancée got a layoff when her company went bankrupt. That was in November of 2008. Shes been able to find a few seasonal jobs since then, but still hasn't been able to find a full time job.

Besides 15 bucks an hour for full time employment would work out to about 31K a year. A single person should be able to support themselves on that. Especially if they were good with money.

8. NW-Warlord

NW-Warlord

$15 an hour is better than nothing. If nothing else it gets your foot in the door. Pay always varies with experience and how skilled the labor is.

9. skanless

skanless IPA ISLAND

WTF......... I thought they make about $20. :faint:

10. cranejc

cranejc

15/hr = ~32k/yr - very livable for a single person in my neck of the woods. and that with owning a home and a decent vehicle, if you manage your finances.

11. MedicOni