close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

iMac memory question

Discussion in 'Tech Talk' started by BilltheCat, Dec 23, 2006.

  1. BilltheCat

    BilltheCat Quieter Cat Millennium Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 1999
    Messages:
    1,599
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Sanford, Florida
    Is it an easy thing to add ram to an imac? simple on a pc, add the ram, reboot, let bios see ram, save reboot.

    I saw a refurb imac with 512mb ram. would rather at least 1 gig.

    so, is it as easy with an apple?
     
  2. ThreadKiller

    ThreadKiller Socialism Sucks

    Joined:
    May 5, 2004
    Messages:
    717
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Nebraska
    I haven't done it myself. (I ordered mine with 1GB installed) But it appears that it would be very easy. The back of the iMac comes off in about 3.4 seconds and everything is right in front of you on the motherboard. Several online sources for Mac memory.

    Should be no problem.
     

  3. BilltheCat

    BilltheCat Quieter Cat Millennium Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 1999
    Messages:
    1,599
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Sanford, Florida
    groovy! thanks! I wonder if you have to rest the bios?
     
  4. IndyGunFreak

    IndyGunFreak

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2001
    Messages:
    26,770
    Likes Received:
    2,098
    Location:
    Indiana
    I'm not familiar with Mac's, but every PC I've ever built or installed RAM on, has always autorecognized the RAM with no problem. Not sure how to do it on a Mac, but on a Windows pC, you can Right Click My computer/Properties. At the bottom of the first tab under the Windows Reg. number and processor speed, should be the amount of RAM...

    I'm sure a Mac has a similar way to check system memory. Also, if this helps, my understanding of Macs(at least the ones that run true Apple hardware, and not Wintel Macs), don't require as much ram as a comparable PC, but of course, it never hurts either.

    IGF
     
  5. BilltheCat

    BilltheCat Quieter Cat Millennium Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 1999
    Messages:
    1,599
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Sanford, Florida
    interesting. I had not thought that. If I bought an iMac with 512Mb ram I would use OSX. As long as the doc files and excel files were usable on a pc with word or excel it would be fine.

    I am just waiting now to see if prices go down the next few days after Christmas. soon. soon
     
  6. Toyman

    Toyman

    Joined:
    May 6, 2003
    Messages:
    2,600
    Likes Received:
    36
    Location:
    West Michigan
    Yes, It's very easy. I did it on mine. Basically take out two little screws out of the cover (1.5"x5"), and there are little levers like the PC's have. Shove it in and put the cover back on.

    See Here.
     
  7. dport

    dport

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2000
    Messages:
    651
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Landlocked
    I've added memory to Macs. Just make sure you buy the RAM from Apple. Turn off the computer. Intall the memory. Turn on the computer. It's just that simple.
     
  8. Blitzer

    Blitzer Cool Cat

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2004
    Messages:
    12,111
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    The communist's play ground of OHIO
    Not having work on newer imacs: one must confirm if you need to remove the 512MB stick and replace it with a 1GB stick or add another 512MG stick of memory.
     
  9. Deanster

    Deanster Cheese? CLM Millennium Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 1999
    Messages:
    7,505
    Likes Received:
    2,093
    New iMacs with 512 ship with one 512 stick in a slot, and one empty slot.

    It'll run fine for basics with 512, but it's pretty cramped. 1G+ really lets it run free.

    Finally, it's a MAC - none of that BIOS reset stuff - shove it in, start it up, you're done. That said, you really want to buy RAM that's Mac-certified - the super-cheapest generic stuff will usually work, but has been known to cause enough trouble that most folks are better off buying something that says 'for Mac' - I just bought 3 1G sticks on Friday - spent $2 each more than the absolute cheapest available to get Mac-specific memory - no big deal - I probably wouldn't have bought the dead cheapest in any case - usually a bad idea.