If a move to NY is required...What happens to my pistol?

Discussion in 'The Okie Corral' started by Glock36fs, Feb 1, 2010.

1. Glock36fs

Glock36fs

Hey all. I'm currently an Ohio resident working as an Airline Pilot. With my seniority, if for some reason I'm furloughed, I would most likely have to move back and live in NY where my entire family is. What would I need to do with my Glock 36 that I own? I know I obviously can't bring it into NY without a pistol permit. It seems like the only option is to sell it or have someone I know in Ohio hold it for me until I get after the 6 month long process, a NY pistol permit (it would be for Suffolk county on Long Island). Can I apply for a permit now, as an out of state resident? Is there a way to store the gun in NY until I get a permit? :dunno:

2. Doog

Doog REVOLUTION

You would first need to obtain a permit, but NY doesn't allow nonresident permits. You would have to first establish residency in NY, then apply which took me about 6 weeks in my county to receive the permit. You could either have someone in Ohio hold it for you, or transfer to a local NY FFL to hold until you could register the pistol. Either way it needs to be transferred to NY via FFL.

3. MattHappyTrails

MattHappyTrails

We left NYC in '76 due to restrictive gun laws and their City income tax supporting the generations of do nothings. Hope you don't have to move back.

Colorado has been great!

4. itisbruno

itisbruno Devious Member CLM

You send your pistola to bruno

:thumbsup:

5. Hines57

Hines57 Simple Member

I am in central Ohio if you need a place to store it.

6. Glock36fs

Glock36fs

Thanks of the offer and everyone for the advice, I'll keep it all in mind. Hopefully it never has to come to moving back. I'm really enjoying all the 2A freedoms I have in OH, since I became a resident.

7. bwphoto

bwphoto Lifetime Member

"Don't ask, don't tell" ... or was that for something else? I'm confused :p