close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

IE Explorer closes windows

Discussion in 'Tech Talk' started by GlockOpsFool, Jul 16, 2006.

  1. GlockOpsFool

    GlockOpsFool NRA Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2004
    Messages:
    502
    Likes Received:
    15
    Location:
    Oklahoma
    I'm not sure what's causing this or when it really started, but I have Internet Explorer version 6.0. I've noticed that on a daily basis (but not every time), when I click on a link or try to open a new browser window, it closes all of my IE windows except for the one I just opened, and there is a Yahoo toolbar on the window.

    I have to manually set IE to not show the Yahoo toolbar each time.

    Anyone have any ideas what is causing this to occur?
     
  2. igorts

    igorts

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2006
    Messages:
    155
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    CA
    try to hold conrol key, while clicking, if page opens it's pop-up blocker.
    And remove yahoo junk...
    also, any watchdog running like ad-aware or soft firewall prog?
     

  3. fastvfr

    fastvfr Ancient Tech

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2001
    Messages:
    2,344
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    SW Oregon
    My first suggestion would be to stop using a buggy kernel-level browser that's known to allow anything on the Web to infect your system.

    Since you've probably heard that already, but chose to ignore that advice (even when it was flatly suggested by various US .gov agencies related to IT security) for whatever reason, you could:

    2. Try updating to IE7; that will overwrite most of the old files.

    3. Install a Mozilla browser product.

    4. Install Opera.

    Good luck!

    >>Edited to add This Link to the M$ IE7 Beta3 page.
     
  4. Washington D.C.

    Washington D.C.

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2003
    Messages:
    5,218
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Woestyn Kusdorp
  5. igorts

    igorts

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2006
    Messages:
    155
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    CA
    LET USER RESPOND,
    he asked for fix not for replacement.
     
  6. Glock Bob

    Glock Bob Snack Attack!!!

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2004
    Messages:
    405
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Alabama
    That IS the fix. :upeyes:
     
  7. GlockOpsFool

    GlockOpsFool NRA Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2004
    Messages:
    502
    Likes Received:
    15
    Location:
    Oklahoma
    I upgraded to IE 7.0. I'm not sure I like it, so I may go back and re-install 6.0. Thanks for the responses.
     
  8. fastvfr

    fastvfr Ancient Tech

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2001
    Messages:
    2,344
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    SW Oregon
    All right, guy...your machine, your headache.

    At least do yourself a favor and GET INFORMED.

    Here's one reason why...

     
  9. Drjones

    Drjones

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2002
    Messages:
    6,157
    Likes Received:
    54
    Location:
    CA, just outside the United States
    Honestly, download and install Mozilla/Firefox.

    It is a LOT better than IE: WAY more stable, faster & tabbed browsing is THE BEST!!!
     
  10. GlockOpsFool

    GlockOpsFool NRA Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2004
    Messages:
    502
    Likes Received:
    15
    Location:
    Oklahoma
    OK, I've downloaded Mozilla Firefox and it seems to work fine except for one thing I've noticed so far:

    Some pics embedded in GT threads don't show up. What setting am I missing?
     
  11. malkore

    malkore

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2005
    Messages:
    434
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Lincoln, NE
    IE 7.0 is still beta...so it may be buggy and crash too.
     
  12. Drjones

    Drjones

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2002
    Messages:
    6,157
    Likes Received:
    54
    Location:
    CA, just outside the United States

    Tools/Content: Make sure the "Load Images" box is checked, and you probably want "for the originating website only" box to be UNchecked.
     
  13. IndyGunFreak

    IndyGunFreak

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2001
    Messages:
    26,699
    Likes Received:
    2,017
    Location:
    Indiana
    Yup, since most folks use photobucket, putfile, or their own website, to host the images to save bandwidth for Eric..

    Firefox or Opera are the only real choices in a Browser. MSIE is a mess.

    IGF