IDPA big improvement for me today!

Discussion in 'General Competition' started by Glocktrekker, Feb 1, 2010.

1. Glocktrekker

Glocktrekker

I have been really working hard on accuracy and was rewarded at today's match with a total of 18 pts. down! HUGE improvement for me...score was a personal best and as a SSP Novice, I scored above quite a few SSP Marksmen!

I picked up a gun for the first time in June '09 and have been at the IDPA thing since September (69 pts. down and dead last at my first event)

Forums like this and the advice that is available and the great people who are willing to comment and help were a big part of my improvement. Thanks to all who have helped both directly and indirectly...sometimes you don't realize what an impact you make when you take the time to post a comment!

Really enjoying the shooting sport- (started shooting steel as well...) and looking forward to many years of enjoyment! (Now if I can just convince my wife that a gun safe is furniture....) :whistling:

2. DustyDawg48

DustyDawg48

Excellent job! That sounds like me from my shoot in January. Even though the weather kept many shooters away, I was able to post my best ever scores. I know it's hard to compare since the courses change from match to match, but after shooting IDPA for a year I can see myself getting better.

Nothing adds to your skill building like shooting under pressure. By yourself at the range with nothing but a piece of paper is still good, but shooting on the clock, in front of your peers with results the whole world will see; it shines a light on areas that need work and showcases the areas you excel in.

My next shoot is this Saturday and it's not getting here soon enough. I hope I can have a repeat performance but I'm glad to just be out shooting.

3. ronin.45

ronin.45

Good job! Keep working on the accuracy. Remember speed will come naturally once you get comfortable with accuracy.

4. Glocktrekker

Glocktrekker