I would like to fly

Discussion in 'The Okie Corral' started by N1PJ, Jan 14, 2005.

1. N1PJ

N1PJ NRA Member

I would like to learn how to fly someday. Right now I am very limited on funds, I guess I will have to resort to holding an rc radio and watching my model zip across the sky for now.

2. TimC

TimC Uhavthecontrols

3. Texas T

Texas T TX expatriate CLM

Save your money and starting reading flight instruction manuals and start practicing on MS Flt Sim. Understanding the basics and what does what will help when you actually get some seat time. And I think it's better to try to knock out your training hours all at once instead of trying to squeeze in an hour or two a month.

4. Guest

I took 4 hours of dual instruction in a two place ultralight trainer (three axis of control conventional airframe, pusher) from a BFI, basic flight instructor. After 4 hours I was ready to solo my ultralight airplane. I was an rc pilot, had some helicopter time (private lessons) and had flown paragliders solo. I’ve been flying my ultralight for years and now need only a couple cross country flights to finish a private pilot’s license. I want to build a two seater, experimental.

The cost of lessons was $75 per hour. You can buy a good airworthy ultralight airplane for less than $10,000, often for under $5000. Every aspect of ultralight flying is cheaper than general aviation. I’ve flown my airplane all over the country, Midwest and northwest. I typically fly at 5000-6000’ msl over the mountains to take photos. It is the most affordable way to fly. I feel that because mankind dreamed of flight for so long that now that it is so easy and affordable it would be wrong not to fly.

5. Guest

I took this photo with a wing mounted camera. I'm flying over the Cascades.

6. HKMark23

HKMark23 Millennium Member

What about a Recreational Pilot License, that will cost a bunch less and let you build time......

7. buzzboy618ar

buzzboy618ar