close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

I could not believe how screwed Dell is!!!!

Discussion in 'Tech Talk' started by HVAC-TEK, Jul 25, 2006.

1. HVAC-TEK

HVAC-TEK

I am a network admin for a local office of a large insurance company. We use Dells due to the service given to us by their Big Business division. I have my BBD rep and have been really happy with them. It never occurred to me NOT to recommend them.

I was asked by a small business owner if I could help him with the new network that he was going to be getting. He was concerned that the computer company was trying to shaft him and asked that I review their quote.
    The quote was far more than I felt was fair, and the lack of any tape back up equipment was a little bit unsettling.

(Are you ready? This is where it all goes to hell..)

I called my Dell rep, who set me up with Dells "Small business division." I was able to get my small business owner a great price on some good equipment. I was pleased that I could help, and suggested he place the order.

The Parts came from every ware. Some shipped by UPS, some shipped by other companies. The main server came delivered by a strange dilapidated van that had a trash bag taped to the spot where the rear window should have been.

The computers were delivered within the first two weeks, but the server didn’t arrive until week four. (And four nasty phone calls later.)

I am still missing my antivirus and Ethernet Switch and it’s been well over five weeks.

When I call, I can’t talk to my Small business rep. Turn around time between leaving a message and getting a reply is three days.

When I talk to "post sales", I’m told....It’s been delivered....It’s been canceled....It will arrive tomorrow.

When I demand to cancel the order saying "antivirus is critical and I needed it four weeks ago, I’m told that they...."can’t do that".