close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

http error 400

Discussion in 'Tech Talk' started by mdj1, Nov 24, 2005.

  1. mdj1

    mdj1

    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2002
    Location:
    washington pa
    For one sight I keep getting the "HTTP 400 ERROR BAD REQUEST". I have tried it from a different pc and it came up fine. the page is for a local newspaper. the only thing i've done to my system is download the recomanded windows updates and change the anti virus from norton to Computer Associates ez anti virus. all the other web sites work just the local paper won't. look it it and it appears to be a registry key problem can any one help me with this?
     
  2. Dandapani

    Dandapani

    Messages:
    8,216
    Likes Received:
    13
    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2004
    Location:
    Gulf side Florida
    post the URL here.
     

  3. Washington D.C.

    Washington D.C.

    Messages:
    5,218
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2003
    Location:
    Woestyn Kusdorp
    What firewall are you using?It could also be an internet preference/setting.
     
  4. mdj1

    mdj1

    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2002
    Location:
    washington pa
    the web page is www.observer-reporter.com I was at my dads today and it worked from his pc - same isp. I'm running norton firewall.
     
  5. Washington D.C.

    Washington D.C.

    Messages:
    5,218
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2003
    Location:
    Woestyn Kusdorp
    Norton firewall seems to block too many things or can't be configured to allow what you want.Try switching off the Norton firewall.
     
  6. Blitzer

    Blitzer Cool Cat

    Messages:
    12,111
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2004
    Location:
    The communist's play ground of OHIO
    I don't recommend shutting off the firewall especially if your on broadband! There are too many goblins scanning for you to drop your shields! ;P ;g


    I got to your URL in question with any issues.

    No flame just I.M.O.:

    I don't use Norton firewall, too flimsy and difficult to configure. Try to add the URL to your exceptions list (allowed list) if I remember correctly.



    Safe surfing to you.


    I now use ZoneAlarmPro. ;)
     
  7. mdj1

    mdj1

    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2002
    Location:
    washington pa
    ended up being a problem with my firewall. reconfigured my hardware firewall and switched to the windows firewall and all is fine.....at least for now.