How would a 9mm glock fair against a coyote or mountain lion for self defense as a tr

Discussion in 'Hunting, Fishing & Camping' started by SENEN_NIEVES, Sep 4, 2005.

1. SENEN_NIEVES

SENEN_NIEVES Millennium Member

I amm curiuos to know would a glock 19 with 15 round mag be enough protection against a mountain lion or coyote ?:) :) ;c

2. JKG

JKG

I'm no expert, but 16 rounds of 9mm would seem pretty good to me. Lot of firepower and low-recoil for follow-up shots. I've never shot a mountain lion, but they are thin-skinned and probably not all that different than shooting a human with a jacket on.

Some say that you will never hear a lion before it attacks. I think this may be true, but before I moved to Oregon, I did a lot of research on lion attacks. First, what I learned was that 'most' of the attacks seem to occur in CO and CA. Urban expansion into wild areas and lots of people in the woods, etc.

Second, in 'many' of the attacks, the victims saw the lion well before it attacked. If I remember correctly, many people were successful in fighting off the cat (by hand or knife). Those that couldn't were small men and women.

I've only seen one lion. It was huge, very muscular, and not one bit afraid of me. It didn't even seem to care that I was there. I would definitely want 'any' handgun rather than nothing.

I think an auto would be nice for firepower, but a revolver would be handy if you get knocked down (limpwrist, jams, etc are not relevant).

3. grecco

grecco

make sure you have extreme shock ammo loaded up....
    seriously...
    i think the 9mm is ok,but bigger is always better.

4. Glocker74

Glocker74

Many cougar hunters use a .22 pistol for them. They chase with dogs, tree it and shoot it out of the tree. Unlike a bear, a cougar is probably going to high tail it when you start firing a 9mm.

Coyotes rely on stealth and cowardice and are not known to attack full grown humans unless they are lying on the ground dying.