close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

How to ID a Seal

Discussion in 'US Navy Forum' started by jlbmagna, Nov 7, 2006.

1. jlbmagna

jlbmagna

We just hired a Project Mgr who claims to be a seal. I am suspicious, he casually mentions he has killed several people, and doesn't seem to be affected by it at all, in fact seems to be bragging. I suggested a trip to the range but he doesn't have a handgun to take and doesn't seem to have knowledge about sig's or hk's, he doesn't profess any proficiency either. I have only spoken casually with him and I could be all wrong. I am a 6 year vet of the USN 3 tours in the Vietnam theater (not ashore), and have had contact with a number of Rangers, Green Berets etc and I notice a certain no nonsense attitude concerning their service. As I speak with this man are there any ques I could pick up on to indicate whether he is the real deal or a poser. I just don't like the prospect of someone sponging off the service of others. Again maybe I'm all wrong but I have a funny feeling about this guy. If anyone has any thoughts on this I'd like to hear them. Thanks in advance.
    jlbmagna mm1 US Enterprise 67-73

2. DHansen

DHansen

Give www.veriseal.org a shot. They make it their business to investigate SEAL claims.

Also, ask the guy what BUD/S class he was in. If he doesn't remember/says he didn't have a class number, then he's FOS.

3. BigHank

BigHank

I hear this crap all the time from guys that had nothing to do with the subject. If you weren't a SEAL then move on. You are a V Vet. Now if someone made claims about that then I can see it bothering you.
    As for checking on their class..
    I served 7 yrs in the Navy and I went in to become a SEAL. That was the only reason I joined and it didn't work out. I was in Coronado for 3 mnths only to have my knees go bad. So if someone asked me what class # I was in, I have one for them but it doesn't mean I was a SEAL (120 by the way)