close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

How much do you spend on your girlfriend for her birthday?

Discussion in 'The Okie Corral' started by mr00jimbo, Aug 16, 2012.

1. mr00jimbo

mr00jimbo

For those guys in long term relationships, not like 2 months in and suddenly her birthday comes up.

I've been dating my girlfriend now over 2.5 years. We're both in our early-mid 20s (I'm a student and I work menial student jobs, she works and receives a wage on par for her age), and don't live together.

I love to go all out for her birthday, or Christmas, even if it means sacrificing that gun purchase I want. Let's be real, if I can save up to afford a Colt Series 70 1911, or two steel-framed Sig Sauers, I can swing a nice gift for her.

Around the year 1 mark I spent about 250 bucks. Same for Christmas.
    Year 2, around 200 bucks. 250 for Christmas.
    Year 3, I saw this purse she'd love for 350 plus tax/shipping so likely 400$ all in.

I know it's the thought that counts and not the pricetag, but I'm sure you guys tend to set a price you want to spend, no? I mean, unless money is tight (that's a whole new thing altogether), or you don't do gifts or something.

What I get back is a wild card. Some years it's extravagant, some years it lacks thought and planning, and it shows.
    But I don't know many people who are so enthused and eager to buy people i love great gifts. Most people tend to throw a dismal amount down and move on.
    Worth noting is she gives 0 hints. I listen for them. She likes nice things but will never come out and say what she likes. So I have to go with my imagination.

I know people who cheap out on their girlfriend then turn around and buy themselves a new gun.

So yeah, what do you tend to spend on your girlfriend's Christmas or birthday gift? Do you have a reason for that price range? Or could it be 2 grand one year, 50 bucks the next?

Last edited: Aug 16, 2012
  2. NeverMore1701