How many history geeks do we have here?

Discussion in 'The Okie Corral' started by jame, Mar 29, 2020.

1. jame

jame I don't even know....what I'm doing here....

Who believes that, generally speaking, history repeats itself?

I’m curious, because this current situation is frequently compared to the 1918 pandemic. Thoughts please?

orangejeep06 and billy_56081 like this.
  2. Lockback

Lockback Polymerlicious!

I have a degree in history but am by no means an expert on the 1918 flu epidemic.
    Obviously (to me anyway) the biggest changes since then are:
    1) Communication
    2) Transportation

No commercial airlines in 1918. No jets. No international flights.
    And, of course, no TV, no internet, no social media.
    Both of these factors make this a completely different world today than then.
    To say nothing of the medical advances.
    So those are some quick thoughts off the top of my head ...

3. Gray Dood

Gray Dood

One HUGE difference is the ability to spread total [email protected] information to ignorant masses at literally the push of a button.

In 1918 people got information much slower and that allowed for more thoughtful processing of that information.

4. jmohme

jmohme

You make a very good point.

5. azbuckeye

azbuckeye

The 1918 Spanish Flu has been estimated to have killed anywhere from 12 million to as high as 50 million worldwide, but due to the lack of adequate reporting we will never know the true numbers. Let's hope COVID19 never reaches those numbers.

On a related note, as a teenager I worked for a small greenhouse\florist that worked closely with local cemeteries providing seasonal services (graveside floral arrangements etc.). I had the opportunity to meet a old grave digger that dug graves by hand as a young man during the 1918 flu pandemic and he related some horrific stories about bodies that had to be held for burial due to frozen ground in Winter months.

rayzer007 and Lockback like this.
  6. cheygriz