close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

How many HDTV Rcvrs do you have?

Discussion in 'The Okie Corral' started by clipper100, Jan 9, 2010.

  1. clipper100

    clipper100

    Messages:
    747
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2006
    Location:
    FL
    Now that all new TV's are flat panel and HDTV...

    If you have more than one HDTV... Do you have a HDTV Rcvr for each set owned???

    Seems a waste to watch a HDTV ... TV without HD?

    Don't-cha think?
     
  2. cmcinc

    cmcinc

    Messages:
    3,507
    Likes Received:
    3
    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2007
    Location:
    Georgia
    3 HDTV's and 2 receivers here.
     

  3. clipper100

    clipper100

    Messages:
    747
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2006
    Location:
    FL
    How is 'NORMAL' non-HDTV reception on your set?

    I'm getting rid of a CRT in a guest bedroom ...

    And wondering if I should spend the extra for a HD Rcvr...

    Another words... Trying to be cheap...
     
  4. harlenm

    harlenm Millennium Member

    Messages:
    9,850
    Likes Received:
    922
    Joined:
    Jul 20, 1999
    Location:
    CT
    2 tv's, 2 HD dvrs from directv.
     
  5. Minnow

    Minnow

    Messages:
    2,399
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2006
    Location:
    Techas
    I have five HD capable "set top boxes" provided by my service. They are connected to an HD television, an LCD HD projector with 106" screen, and three CRT TV's. AT&T U-Verse with HD is my service and picture/sound quality is pretty good in my area...
     
    Last edited: Jan 9, 2010
  6. podwich

    podwich

    Messages:
    4,648
    Likes Received:
    314
    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2000
    Location:
    MI
    Practically all HDTVs sold now have HD receivers, so... I'm not sure how you want your question answered.
     
  7. seaking11

    seaking11 Millennium Member

    Messages:
    87
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 13, 1999
    Location:
    New Hampshire
    3 HDTV receivers and 1 regular for a tube TV we still use in the basement.
     
  8. Dandapani

    Dandapani

    Messages:
    8,216
    Likes Received:
    13
    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2004
    Location:
    Gulf side Florida
    One, my cable box. My EDTV (720P) cannot receive OTA HD/Digital signals. I feed it HD content via HDMI cable switched through my Yamaha video receiver. HD cable box, Roku (netflix streaming) and soon to be PS3 Blu-Ray player switch through the video receiver. TV was purchased >5 years ago and it is still running strong (Samsung plasma).
     
  9. fwm

    fwm

    Messages:
    2,630
    Likes Received:
    31
    Joined:
    May 31, 2006
    Location:
    Near Central US
    3 Time Warner HD DVR boxes, driving 7 TV sets, 3 HD and 4 older CRTs. One of the HD DVRs is remotely controlled from any room upstairs or the basement by a radio transmitter module in the controller, with a receiver/DVR controller in front of the DVR.

    (Yes, the HD DVR will send analog signals to older TVs, in wide screen format. So, while not HD in quality, you still see the wider format picture, with a better quality pictures than standard antenna or cable pictures.)
     
    Last edited: Jan 9, 2010
  10. Diesel_Bomber

    Diesel_Bomber

    Messages:
    9,956
    Likes Received:
    6,920
    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2008
    Wife and I have one 13" CRT TV hooked to a VCR(what's that?)/DVD player. No blue ray, no HDTV, no cable, no satellite, and no plans to procure any of those.

    I will make sure all my radios from now on are HD, though.
     
  11. clipper100

    clipper100

    Messages:
    747
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2006
    Location:
    FL
    Of course they are ALL HD capable...

    I meant: do you have HD RCVR service (a box) for each?
     
  12. podwich

    podwich

    Messages:
    4,648
    Likes Received:
    314
    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2000
    Location:
    MI
    I do have a satellite receiver for both, but if I lived in town I could receive HD over-the-air without a box. My point is that you don't need a box to receive HDTV. The TV itself has an "HD RCVR". But yeah, you would need one for subscription TV (except for QAM tuners with HD in the clear over cable, or with the cablecard systems).
     
  13. Bado

    Bado

    Messages:
    630
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2007
    Location:
    VA
    4 receivers with tivo
     
  14. ranger56528

    ranger56528

    Messages:
    503
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2009
    Location:
    Mn.on a lake,well nxt to a lake.
    4 tv's with 4 direct recivers is what we have.
     
  15. sdsnet

    sdsnet NRA Member CLM

    Messages:
    3,155
    Likes Received:
    64
    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2007
    Location:
    Texas
    We have two one has a DVR built in.
     
  16. Glocks&Ducs

    Glocks&Ducs

    Messages:
    4,051
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2004

    That is exactly what I was thinking. If you have an HDTV, you have an HD RCVR built in. If you don't have cable or satellite, you need an HD antenna to get some of the local channels. If you have a non-HDTV, you need an HD receiver and an HD antenna to get some channels. Or you can have a non-HDTV with cable or satellite, and the cable or satellite company provided box can act as an HD receiver.

    That is the way I thought it worked. But I don't know. My non-HDTV hasn't been turned on since the signal went digital on June 14th.
     
  17. RDW

    RDW BTDT

    Messages:
    2,500
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2003
    Location:
    PRK
    Five!

    1 73" DLP
    2 42" LCD
    2 35" LCD