how long is the service life?

Discussion in 'Band of Glockers' started by clark_kent, Oct 29, 2005.

1. clark_kent

clark_kent

hi, newbie here. how long is the service life of non-1911 pistol? my first pistol is a CZ 85, it has been shooting well w zero problems w it. i probably have shoot around 3,000 w it already. my range officer told me dat i better not use the CZ 85 on regular practice. di naman daw kc ginawa nyan pambugbug, at kung ano ano na daw ang masisira, unlike 1911.

how true was it? how long does a regular pistol last? am also interest how long will glock pistol last?

2. horge

horge -=-=-=-=- Lifetime Member

There is a semantics issue when discussing 'service iife'.
    Some manufacturers lke Beretta dodge the issue by labelling the slide, barrel, other internals as 'consumables', same as the 9mm cartridges it fires, I suppose. ;g

It's tricky stuff ---if a rear sight breaks --does that xconstitute the end of a pistol's service life? The trial protocols also matter --rounds between rest/cleaning periods, etc.

Anyway here are demonstrated service-life requirements taken from various military/police trials. The firearm's actual service life may far exceed the numbers, as the trials did not go further than meeting bid requirements, although one Beretta 92FS locking block chipped at the 17,000 count. The CZ PO1 (close kin to your CZ 85) had exceeded the 15k requirement and the testers kept going til they called it a day at 30k.

Colt M1911 -- .45 ACP -- 35,000+ rounds (estimated, field) -- USArmy 1911-1945
    Beretta M9 (92FS) -- 9mm_--17,000+ rounds (barrel locking block) -- USArmy 1984-1990
    CZ PO1 -- 9mm Parabellum -- 30,000+ rounds -- Policja Republiki Czeskiej 2001
    HK USP Mk23 -- .45 ACP -- 30,000+ rounds -- USSOC 1993

If someone out there knows these numbers to be erroneous, I'd appreciate a heads-up.

:)
    horge

3. clark_kent

clark_kent

thanks for the info horge :) apreciate it :)

4. Eye Cutter

Eye Cutter