close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

How hard is it to start a small business and retail business? Want some ideas.

Discussion in 'The Okie Corral' started by MissouriGlock, Jun 14, 2017.

1. MissouriGlock

MissouriGlock

So I have a college degree in business and management and have taken some graduate level classes. However, I moved to FL a couple years ago and most of the economy down here is service based and I can't find a career full-time job so I'm stuck working retail. Many in my area of the west coast work two jobs because of the cost of living and mostly service based work around here.

I got a lot of student loans too so I want to start making money and a career. I've worked mostly in the service industry my whole life so I'm familiar with how retail works.

Anyway, I was thinking how much would it cost for a small retail shop? I was thinking of one idea was a small shop that sold quality cell phone cases because it's mostly just the big box stores that sell them unless you want the cheap junk that is sold at the mall kiosk. I thought about that but mall rent can be expensive. I know the markup on the brand name cases is quite high though. I reached out to a few of the manufacturers about how much in orders they require to be a dealer but I get generic canned replies back to fill out web form for my business address and name even though I don't have a business!

I've also thought about a small shop that sells beach and outdoor wear like sunglass and hats and brand name sun glasses with high markups because in my town there is hardly anywhere to buy quality sun glasses in my touristy town other than one Sunglass hut kiosk at the mall. otherwise you have to drive up to Sarasota or 30 miles south to get to a mall that sells quality stuff.