How easy, or not, is it to learn how to play the guitar?

Discussion in 'The Okie Corral' started by Zell, Apr 11, 2012.

1. Zell

Zell IrregularMember

How difficult is it to learn to "play by ear"?

2. MoBill

MoBill Misanthrope

I've been playing guitar for 30 years. Started when I was 8. Just a (compulsive) hobby these days, but for 10 or 12 years I taught a lot of lessons, and for a few years I played professionally as a solo classical/acoustic act. You can hear me do my thing here if you're curious:

http://www.solutionm.com/download/music/ejourney.mp3

http://www.solutionm.com/download/music/cityofno.mp3

http://www.solutionm.com/download/music/ifyoucould.mp3

I like to say that the guitar is one of the easiest instruments with which to get started making music; I can have a student strumming Bob Dylan songs within a few hours of lessons. But it is one of the most difficult instruments to really master.

Having taught and taken a lot of lessons, I can tell you that a good teacher can save you a lot of toil and suffering. They can also inspire you. I do think it's possible to become a fine player learning to play "by ear", but it is absolutely The Hard Way. Things go much more quickly and easily with a good teacher.

Good luck!

Bill

3. GLWyandotte

GLWyandotte Señor Member

Usually play by ear means too lazy to learn to read music. Why not do both? You're going to need some minor help with chord's shapes and scales anyhow, so just take the extra step and learn to sight read.
    You can easily play by ear to improvise once you get going.
    Guitarists and guitars are funny. 90% of the time you can get away with being a hack and nobody(except musicians) will know the difference- until you're asked to sit in with a band, then you're screwed.

Take your time, google some chord shapes and get yourself going.

4. jtmac

jtmac Señor Member