close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

how do you hunt deer?

Discussion in 'Hunting, Fishing & Camping' started by shrpshtr, Jul 9, 2004.

1. shrpshtr

shrpshtr

hey all, i started thinking about something the other night as i was watching the Outdoor Channel. i have been hunting whitetails now for probably 10 or 12 years. i have always hunted them pretty much the same way. scout, and setup in a stand/climber with either a bow, rifle, or shotgun. i have done the occasional ground blind and dog drive as well. i prefer still hunting more than anything though were the actual "hunting" part of it is done without a weapon and out of season.

so how do you do it?

2. Squid.HM2

Squid.HM2

any way i can, bow,rifle,shotgun,muzzle loader.this way i can harvest as many as possible..i like to eat

3. ReAX222

ReAX222

Good people, Beer, CB's, 4 wheel drives, dogs, and some times a weapon. Then If I want meat, I'll slip out at 5am and sit in a blind until 7:30 when bambi's moma comes out to eat alittle corn.

I fish about the same way, execpt I don't like to eat fish.

4. Jack T.

Jack T.

Heck, if they had a season for slingshots and sharp, pointy sticks, I'd hunt them that way also.

5. WillWorkForAmmo

WillWorkForAmmo Slim...

Cinder block.

6. shrpshtr

shrpshtr

thanks for the replies so far. more of what i was looking for is method, not means. in other words, if you stalk, how so? or if you stand hunt, what is your strategy? or ground hunt, how do you setup or move improve success.

what i am finding, especially with the whitetail, is that FEW people stalk them with any success at all. i have had some success in the past hunting them from the ground using blinds, but not very much. i wonder if people hunt whitetails like they do mule deer, antelope, big horn sheep, caribou, or elk out west. if there are those that hunt whitetail in this way, how do you have any success?