close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

How do you deal with boredom at work.

Discussion in 'The Okie Corral' started by digitalmike47, Feb 18, 2010.

1. digitalmike47

digitalmike47

Do any of you guys get bored at work?

I work in IT for a local Govt. and have been here for over 25 years. I know my job, and do it well. Like a lot of places, we have more people than we need, and like anyone in IT will tell you, sometimes there is just nothing to do. But you have to "look" busy. Especially in these times when budgets are being cut, and people are being let go. Fortunatly, there are a lot of people ahead of me, that would have to go first, but I feel bad for anyone that looses their job.

But in all honesty, I'm like a fireman, and sometimes there are just no fires. I know people walk by, and see me in front of my computer, and think, "he just sits there all day and never does anything". Well what they don't see are the 3 servers I am monitoring, and all the phone calls I take, and the many things I can fix from right here.

I get up and walk the building, and even go to some off-sights, but I have to justify that with a workorder, or they ask, "why were you here or why were you there?"

Like I said, I've been doing this for a long time, and I know how to "look" busy, when there isn't anything going on. But it is getting harder and harder to do.

Anybody else in the same boat?

2. A/C Guy

A/C Guy

I have the opposite problem. Business is so good right now that I can't keep up with everything. This will be one of our best Februaries ever.

Can we trade job for a week? I need some rest.

3. Adams454

Adams454