close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

How do I uninstall Windows XP SP2?

Discussion in 'Tech Talk' started by sinecure, Oct 13, 2004.

  1. sinecure

    sinecure A day late...

    Messages:
    115
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2002
    Location:
    Lost Angels, CA
    I got the CD last week and a "helpful" family member installed it on a laptop. Now the whole thing is bollixed-up and I can't access the wireless internet connection at all.

    I run Mozilla and Thunderbird for browser/mail, and ZoneAlarm for a firewall. Apparently SP2 has decided that I am wrong in doing so and has made IE and SP2's new firewall as default. I've reinstated Mozilla and ZA as defaults, but it's still "no connection" when I try to connect to the internet. Things worked just fine before the SP2 "update".

    I looked for an "uninstall" program for SP2, but can't find it. I was told that all the old settings were saved somewhere on the hard drive at SP2's installation. Is this true?

    Is it as simple as using control panel's "add/remove programs"?

    Thanks for any help...
     
  2. JMag

    JMag

    Messages:
    9,109
    Likes Received:
    4,031
    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2001
    Location:
    USA:Love it or leave!
    Have you tried repairing network connections and/or resetting any cable/DSL modem and router? Worked for me.
     

  3. NetNinja

    NetNinja Always Faithful

    Messages:
    967
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2001
    Location:
    HotLanta, GA
    Start/Settings/Control Panel

    Add Remove Programs

    You should have an entry

    Windows XP service Pack 2.

    Pray that they did a backup of the old files when they so helpfully installed the Service pack 2 update.
     
  4. ronin_asano

    ronin_asano

    Messages:
    474
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2004
    did you turn off the windows firewall?

    as i recall the sp2 install now does a backup of previous files automatically.
     
  5. Willard

    Willard Who, me?

    Messages:
    777
    Likes Received:
    118
    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2000
    Use Win XP's System Restore function. Just roll your system back to a "restore point" before you installed SP2. That's what I did when SP2 screwed my PC. BTW, I installed SP2 on two other PCs, and it worked great. This PC I am posting from DID NOT like SP2. Don't know why.
     
  6. Wulfenite

    Wulfenite The King

    Messages:
    1,862
    Likes Received:
    5
    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2000
    Location:
    Pretty Fly for a White Guy
    I did SP2 on my old lap top and a friends notebook and it worked fine. That was befoer I read about all the problems. Now I'm afraid to do my wife's desktop machine.
     
  7. Ffolkes

    Ffolkes

    Messages:
    623
    Likes Received:
    8
    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2002
    Location:
    Canada
    Earlier versions of xp had the firewall off by default, with sp2 the firewall is now on automaticaly wich can cause connection problems.
    __
    ffolkes
     
  8. MikeG22

    MikeG22 CLM

    Messages:
    2,869
    Likes Received:
    1,092
    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2002
    Location:
    San Diego
    Just go to the properties of your internet connection and you can disable the windows firewall. That will likely clear up any problems.

    You might need to give your wireless you're wep key and such if it still doesn't connect.
     
  9. Jack Straight

    Jack Straight

    Messages:
    86
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2003
    Location:
    California, USA
    12 gauge? ;a
     
  10. hogrider

    hogrider

    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Location:
    Newport News, VA
    It's real easy...

    RedHat, SuSE, Gentoo, Debian, *BSD

    Anyone will solve your problem!

    ^c