close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

How do I uninstall Windows XP SP2?

Discussion in 'Tech Talk' started by sinecure, Oct 13, 2004.

  1. sinecure

    sinecure A day late...

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2002
    Messages:
    115
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Lost Angels, CA
    I got the CD last week and a "helpful" family member installed it on a laptop. Now the whole thing is bollixed-up and I can't access the wireless internet connection at all.

    I run Mozilla and Thunderbird for browser/mail, and ZoneAlarm for a firewall. Apparently SP2 has decided that I am wrong in doing so and has made IE and SP2's new firewall as default. I've reinstated Mozilla and ZA as defaults, but it's still "no connection" when I try to connect to the internet. Things worked just fine before the SP2 "update".

    I looked for an "uninstall" program for SP2, but can't find it. I was told that all the old settings were saved somewhere on the hard drive at SP2's installation. Is this true?

    Is it as simple as using control panel's "add/remove programs"?

    Thanks for any help...
     
  2. JMag

    JMag

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2001
    Messages:
    8,079
    Likes Received:
    2,320
    Location:
    USA:Love it or leave!
    Have you tried repairing network connections and/or resetting any cable/DSL modem and router? Worked for me.
     

  3. NetNinja

    NetNinja Always Faithful

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2001
    Messages:
    967
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    HotLanta, GA
    Start/Settings/Control Panel

    Add Remove Programs

    You should have an entry

    Windows XP service Pack 2.

    Pray that they did a backup of the old files when they so helpfully installed the Service pack 2 update.
     
  4. ronin_asano

    ronin_asano

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2004
    Messages:
    474
    Likes Received:
    0
    did you turn off the windows firewall?

    as i recall the sp2 install now does a backup of previous files automatically.
     
  5. Willard

    Willard Who, me?

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2000
    Messages:
    712
    Likes Received:
    48
    Use Win XP's System Restore function. Just roll your system back to a "restore point" before you installed SP2. That's what I did when SP2 screwed my PC. BTW, I installed SP2 on two other PCs, and it worked great. This PC I am posting from DID NOT like SP2. Don't know why.
     
  6. Wulfenite

    Wulfenite The King

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2000
    Messages:
    1,862
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    Pretty Fly for a White Guy
    I did SP2 on my old lap top and a friends notebook and it worked fine. That was befoer I read about all the problems. Now I'm afraid to do my wife's desktop machine.
     
  7. Ffolkes

    Ffolkes

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2002
    Messages:
    623
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    Canada
    Earlier versions of xp had the firewall off by default, with sp2 the firewall is now on automaticaly wich can cause connection problems.
    __
    ffolkes
     
  8. MikeG22

    MikeG22 CLM

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2002
    Messages:
    2,634
    Likes Received:
    682
    Location:
    San Diego
    Just go to the properties of your internet connection and you can disable the windows firewall. That will likely clear up any problems.

    You might need to give your wireless you're wep key and such if it still doesn't connect.
     
  9. Jack Straight

    Jack Straight

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2003
    Messages:
    86
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    California, USA
    12 gauge? ;a
     
  10. hogrider

    hogrider

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Newport News, VA
    It's real easy...

    RedHat, SuSE, Gentoo, Debian, *BSD

    Anyone will solve your problem!

    ^c