How did you end up in your current job/career?

Discussion in 'The Okie Corral' started by Rabbi, Jan 18, 2017.

1. Rabbi

Rabbi The Bombdiggity Lifetime Member

What is the story behind how you arrived at your current job or general career field? Some of these kinds of stories are very interesting. Life can take us places we never set out for and sometimes, exactly where we aimed.

2. FLIPPER 348

FLIPPER 348 Bigfoot enthusiast enthusiast

I wanted to do it for a living since I was 12, got paid to learn the trade.

3. janice6

janice6

My mother got me a Crystal radio early on in grade school. I spent many hours finding out how and why it worked.

I decided in grade school that this was the technology I wanted to spend my life working in.

I did.

4. Rotn1

Rotn1

My parents both worked in the heavy engineering and fabrication industry.
    When I came out if school my dad suggested I call one his Steel mill contacts who were hiring. Started the very next day. That was two countries, 4 companies and 38 years ago. But fundamentally still the same industry.

robbcayman and SevenSixtyTwo like this.
  5. XDRoX

XDRoX

I did the math.

NDcent, huskerbuttons, BradD and 5 others like this.
  6. OGW

OGW SAF

I've enjoyed science and figuring out how things worked since my age was in double digits, so an engineering education seemed like the thing to pursue. After spending 11 years working for a big mining company, I ended up being self employed repairing machinery for various heavy industries--paper, chemical, salt, oil.

ETA: Retired since 2003

Last edited: Jan 18, 2017
    KBKEITH and SevenSixtyTwo like this.
  7. captcurly

captcurly

Current job is no job. I retired 23 yrs ago. This is how I do retirement. I do what I want, if I want and when I want. Yep I loved my past profession but now retirement works for me. I haven't worked a day since Mar.1,1994. I earned this and worked for it so why shouldn't I enjoy it. Regards to all at GT.

8. Sharkey

Sharkey