Glock Forum - GlockTalk banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
533 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Right now i take my (simple) taxes to an elderly lady that charges $50 to do taxes for me and my wife. I dont know how well she is doing them however.

Is going to like a franchised tax place a good way to have them done, or what do you recommend....thanks

·
Who u lookin at
225 Posts
Many of people working at these places are "tax preparers" who have taken a 9 to 12 week course. They are not cpa's or even accountants for that matter. When I was an administrator of a technical school 90% of the students who needed their tax return to apply for a particular government grant and had used one of these tax prep companies had errors that kept them from getting the grant and had to file ammended returns.

·
SAF
10,614 Posts
In my area, the franchised joints (H&R Block types) charge very close to what a real CPA does. The people who prepare returns at the franchises typically go through a brief training course on use of their software and are mostly plug-and-play types. There are some experienced people, but an EA or a CPA will do better the vast majority of the time unless your paper consists only of a W-2. As your return increases in complexity, the need for a real pro increases proportionately.

My wife is a CPA and has fixed a godawful lot of bad returns done by people who think they're competent, typically caused by the IRS coming to call a few years after the problem has occurred. Think penalties and interest.

I'd use TurboTax before taking my taxes to anyone but an EA or CPA.

·
SAF
10,614 Posts
Harlan types faster than I do.

·
Registered
220 Posts