close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

Host webpage off of my computer?

Discussion in 'Tech Talk' started by ThinkOfTheChildren, Sep 19, 2004.

  1. ThinkOfTheChildren

    ThinkOfTheChildren C.E. Moderator

    Messages:
    813
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    May 2, 2000
    Location:
    USA
    I'm currently on a static IP address and I'd like to host a webpage off of my computer. It would only be for friends/family, so password protection of some sort would be required so that the whole net isn't connecting to my computer to view my site.

    What programs would you recommend for setting up such a site?
     
  2. 308endurdebate

    308endurdebate

    Messages:
    118
    Likes Received:
    3
    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2003
    Location:
    Arlington, VA
    Assuming you're using windows 2K or XP or server, you can load iis. But since you're probably running windows, you shouldn't host anything unless you want to host things you don't want to host. If you really need to, make sure you patch (run auto update), run AV and auto update, and run a firewall, and then run apache or some non IIS webserver.

    -ken
     

  3. metallic

    metallic

    Messages:
    101
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2004
    Location:
    Louisiana
    Apache2 would work fine for your needs.
     
  4. David_G17

    David_G17 /\/\/\/\/\/\/\/

    Messages:
    2,046
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2002
    apache is also a lot cheaper than IIS. it's free.

    the windows version isn't as good as the linux/unix version (base on what the apache people say), but it is free.
     
  5. MikeG22

    MikeG22 CLM

    Messages:
    2,851
    Likes Received:
    1,068
    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2002
    Location:
    San Diego
    If you have XP IIS is built in and will work fine.

    And for personal use you can download and run SecureIIS from Eeye for free. This is a sweet product and will defnitly keep the site secure.
    http://www.eeye.com/html/products/secureiis/download/index.html

    And I'm assuming since you have a static IP you are running a hardware firewall. Definitly do that if you're not.
     
  6. ronin_asano

    ronin_asano

    Messages:
    474
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2004
    please don't run it on iis.

    try the apache version, on linux if you can.
     
  7. ThinkOfTheChildren

    ThinkOfTheChildren C.E. Moderator

    Messages:
    813
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    May 2, 2000
    Location:
    USA
    Ok, I checked out Apache. Am I missing something or do I have to configure it all through the plain-text configuration file? Is there some sort of GUI for setting up an Apache server?

    Yep.

    And yes, I'm running Windows XP.
     
  8. hwyhobo

    hwyhobo

    Messages:
    1,426
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2003
    Location:
    Silicon Valley
    The task you are undertaking does require a little learning to do it right. Plain-text configuration files are great. If something does not work as expected, it is easy to go back and fix them. I would encourage you to read some documentation first.

    Check the URLs below:

    http://httpd.apache.org/docs-2.0/configuring.html
    http://httpd.apache.org/docs-2.0/

    Alternatively, you could try this tool:

    http://www.apache-gui.com/apache-windows.html

    I have never used it and don't know if it's any good, but it is GUI.
     
  9. ThinkOfTheChildren

    ThinkOfTheChildren C.E. Moderator

    Messages:
    813
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    May 2, 2000
    Location:
    USA
    Thanks, hwyhobo!
    Yes, I'm willing to learn, but I just like to start off somewhere. Using the GUI will give me a better understanding of what is and isn't working (I'm a visual person).
     
  10. ronin_asano

    ronin_asano

    Messages:
    474
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2004
    correct. plain text config. but it's very simple and makes perfect sense. you can changes things remotely by command line with a simple text editor. you don't need or want that gui.

    give it a try, you'll dig it.
     
  11. fastvfr

    fastvfr Ancient Tech

    Messages:
    2,344
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2001
    Location:
    SW Oregon
    Doesn't your ISP offer you from 10MB to 50MB of webpage space with your account?! Every last one I have seen does...

    Using that would be much better from a security point of view, plus it is already password protected from changes. No one from the Web is going to go into it unless they are really, really bored, trust me.

    Just use Mozilla Composer or M$ FrontPage to build the page then FTP it on over.

    That way the page is still accessable to others even if your PC is down or otherwise not connected to the Web.

    The URL would end up being something like:

    http://www.yourISP.com/thinkofthechildren

    And then you just send the folks you want to access it that link. You would then log on to that same URL with your username, password and FTP client to modify the pages.

    That is probably your best option.

    Do you need more space for hosting files? Just run links from your Home page to any of the free webpage host sites out there if you want to set up files for DL'ing or something.

    The only reason a Windoze user should actually host a server is for Online gaming, IMHO.

    Best regards,

    FastVFR
     
  12. HerrGlock

    HerrGlock Scouts Out CLM

    Messages:
    23,801
    Likes Received:
    254
    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2000
    IBM websphere (just the httpd server) is free and has a web-based administration tool. It's Apache but has the gui via a browser.

    Just a thought.

    DanH