close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

Hi, I'm new here. Can you please help me with my monitor!

Discussion in 'Tech Talk' started by LordGlide, Jul 14, 2004.

  1. LordGlide

    LordGlide

    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2004
    Sorry to trouble you all but I have a serious problem with my monitor. I have an IBM thinkpad and when I turn on my computer, everything is fine until the screen for the desktop appears. My monitor displays everything fine till that point and then it just goes blank. I can start it up in anyother mode and it works fine. We just got our computer re-formatted and the person didn't load the display drivers, so I load them and after loading the drivers, whenever I start my computer the monitor displays everything fine and when it gets to the point of displaying the desktop it just goes blank. So I was pretty sure there are experts here so I just wanted to ask for help. If you can help me, please let me know. Thanks.
     
  2. chevrofreak

    chevrofreak Senior Member

    Messages:
    2,696
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2001
    Location:
    Billings, Montana
    Sounds to me like the video card may be set at too high of resolution, or the refresh rate may be too high.

    Boot to safe mode, or Enable VGA mode, depending on OS, then set the resolution to 1024x768 at 60hz and see what happens.
     

  3. chevrofreak

    chevrofreak Senior Member

    Messages:
    2,696
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2001
    Location:
    Billings, Montana
    Also, if the laptop has TV or VGA output it may be set to that output rather than the LCD. Most laptops will have a hot key for that.
     
  4. David_G17

    David_G17 /\/\/\/\/\/\/\/

    Messages:
    2,046
    Likes Received:
    6
    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2002
    i bet he installed the wrong drivers.
     
  5. LordGlide

    LordGlide

    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2004
    Thank you very much for helping me. Right now I'm running the internet and everything on the VGA mode and I will try what you told me. Thanks a lot and by the way, I didn't load the wrong drivers because the computer did it for me when I searched for the proper drivers using the add new hardware thing in the control panel. Anyways, I will try what you told me. Thanks alot and I'll let you know what happens.
     
  6. David_G17

    David_G17 /\/\/\/\/\/\/\/

    Messages:
    2,046
    Likes Received:
    6
    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2002
  7. jack19512

    jack19512

    Messages:
    716
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2003
    Location:
    Hazard Ky
    I bet it's a driver issue.
     
  8. LordGlide

    LordGlide

    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2004
    I have an IBM thinkpad. A T21. And, I tried changing the resolution and things but the LCD still goes blank when I start it up the normal way. Well, when the computer checked for the display drivers the first time I loaded them the computer said that it was close to the appropriate drivers, so maybe it got the wrong drivers?

    And for more info about the adapter type:

    it's a S3 Graphics Savage/IX 1014
     
  9. David_G17

    David_G17 /\/\/\/\/\/\/\/

    Messages:
    2,046
    Likes Received:
    6
    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2002
    http://www-307.ibm.com/pc/support/site.wss/document.do?lndocid=MIGR-4JSQHB#Video

    ^ click above link and scroll down to a section named "video". it looks like the T21 uses the same video driver as the T20.

    choose the correct driver (depending on your Operating System) to download.

    the next screen will let you download the executable file and/or the Readme text file.

    download and run the executable.
     
  10. LordGlide

    LordGlide

    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2004
    I thank for helping me with thins situation and all. I really appreciate it. And I went to the link and did everything right, but the problem presists. So, do you think I should just load a different operating system? Just wondering. Thanks for all your help.
     
  11. LordGlide

    LordGlide

    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2004
  12. chevrofreak

    chevrofreak Senior Member

    Messages:
    2,696
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2001
    Location:
    Billings, Montana
    What operating system are you running?
     
  13. LordGlide

    LordGlide

    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2004
    Hi. I'm just posting to say that the drivers are working properly now. Thank you all for being so kind and helping me out with my situation. I really appreciate it. If there's anything I can do to help you out, just let me know. Thanks.