Hi HAM's! I'm new!

Discussion in 'The Okie Corral' started by TennDECA, Jun 7, 2007.

1. TennDECA

TennDECA "Let's Roll!"

Hello all,

I am a relative newbie to this HAM thing, so bear with me. I have not taken any classes or tests yet, have not bought any gear yet and (obviously) don't have a license yet. In fact, I don't know very much about this stuff other than what I have read here (after YEARS of staying in the "comfortable areas" of GNG, T&T, S&P and CT, I have ventured to the deep end of the pool known as the Ham Shack!)

Let me describe my needs and ya'll can point me in the right direction and mold me like a fresh piece of clay!

I do a lot of vehicle borne, backcountry camping. Sometimes for weeks at a time. I am looking for a mobile communications system I can install in my expedition vehicle that can be used to stay in touch with the world or for emergency comms should the need arise.

I sometimes go DEEP into the backcountry, with NOTHING around for 100 or more miles in any direction. A CB is great for local comms, but in order to really reach out and talk (or listen) to someone, I'm sure a HAM is the way to go.

(Frankly, this set-up will also need to be appropriate for use IF the need to bug-out away from population centers ever occurs.)

I'm looking for a system that: Has the broadest range of communication capabilites, is powerful enough to communicate at distance, can be cleanly (and relatively discreetly) installed in the center console of my vehicle and finally, doesn't need a 20' antenna (or if it does, at least has one that can be removed and reinstalled when needed).

So? Does something like this exist?

2. FN64

FN64

Hey TennDECA & welcome to the commo board..

Looking at he "back country" requirements I'm inclined to think that the HF bands would be more appropriate than the more localized VHF/UHF frequencies.