Glock Forum - GlockTalk banner

1 - 20 of 90 Posts

·
Registered
3,217 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I was reading somewhere that all the stuff a cop wears to work weighs between 25 to 30 pounds! I can't stand the weight of my clothes when I'm at work and I'm a cook.
How do you deal with it? Also how many of you guys have back or leg issues? How long is the term of "patrol officer" before you finally vet to ditch all that stuff?

·
Why so serious?
65,926 Posts
Lots of cops have back issues by the time they near retirement.

There are things we can use to help reduce the issues, such as suspenders, and especially load bearing vests (no, not the military style), but many Political and LE leaders think they "look bad", so don't allow them.

Sent from my Jackboot using Copatalk

·
Registered
3,168 Posts
My stuff weighs out at about 25lbs when I carry my back up. 2 years from retirement and have had back issues. Not my spine, my lower back muscle. I can pull it with no warning and I'm out for about 17 days. Goes into a spasm and debilitating. Work out, lift, run etc.. and it does not help. When it pulls, it is so bad it pulls my right shoulder down lower than my left. I figure sitting in the car, my back is at an odd angle that is what causes the problem but can't say for sure.

I have known guys that have had major spine issues from it.

·
Registered
3,474 Posts
A person gets used to it after a while, but it does get heavy. Between a duty rig and vest, you are correct, around 32 lbs. I tried to lighten up by going to anything lighter. 2A vest, Alloy Cuffs, Glock G23, SERPA holster, 1 spare mag on belt, 1 in a mag pocket. Nylon or plastic cases hold everything else I carry. No duty belt, a 511 riggers belt. I still carry around 28lbs, including Radio. So there you go.
And like DNA said. Go Tactical w/ a M4 Carbine, Plates Vest and mag carrier, and you must make sure you don't fall into deep puddles!
Just about as heavy as being in the Infantry again.

·
Registered