close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

Help!!!?

Discussion in 'Tech Talk' started by pascal, Oct 7, 2006.

1. pascal

pascal

Hello,
    I have within the last two days developed a problem using IE6 on XP Home all updated. While surfing, a page will pop up my download program (Free Download Manager) and then IE's download pop-up to attempt to download the page I want to view instead of displaying it. Doesn't happen all the time but quite often. What did I do wrong and can anyone help? Thanks for any assistance.
    pascal

2. IndyGunFreak

IndyGunFreak

What do you mean free download manager? If you're using the type of program I suspect, my first guess would be spyware.

IGF

3. pascal

pascal

Hello IGF,
    Free Download Manager is a download program that allows you to resume and other stuff. It automatically pops up if I click a download link, and if I hit cancel it let's the IE6 do the download. I've been using for several months with no problems. My current problem is that it will pop up when clicking links to goto other pages, like a forum thread. Again it doesn't happen but 1/4 of the time now. Have Webroot spysweep, spybot and they don't show any items, although Spybot seems to be acting differently?
    pascal

4. pascal

pascal

Hello again,
    I've tried complete Defender/Webroot/CCleaner and Avast in the Admin and Owner accounts in safe mode. No indications of any problems. Deleted Free Download Manager prior to the above. When I click a link I get the download pop-up on numerous occasions. Then it will just load the page normally. Does anybody have any further things I might try to diagnose/correct this? Thanx
    BTW I installed Firefox and it happens intermittently in that also
    pascal

5. Bluzman

Bluzman

You might find a setting in IE's Properties Page that are causing this. If you have XP SP2 use the built-in Popup Blocker.

6. pascal

pascal