close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

Help With Macro

Discussion in 'Through-the-Lens Club' started by bigzebra, Feb 7, 2007.

1. bigzebra

bigzebra

Hello, this is my first time posting here. Before I get to my questions, I’ll give you a little background:

I purchased a Rebel XTi in December as a Christmas present for myself (and my wife) with the intention for using it for work (I’m a cop). Additionally, I have always been interested in photography, so I wanted something more that a point and shoot.

So, my wife has started her own website peddling the jewelry she makes. We wanted to take professional looking photographs of her products and decided we needed to add a macro lens to our collection. After quite a bit of research, I purchased a Canon EFS 60mm macro lens. (I had been debating with myself for some time as to whether or not it was feasible to get an EFS lens, as their long-term usefulness to me, should I upgrade to a full-size sensor camera in the future, seems unclear.) I also purchased a Manfrotto tripod and the head that has the compressible handle which allows it to swivel.

Instead of shelling out a couple hundred more clams on commercially available macro light boxes, we made our own macro light studio. I took a large cardboard box, cut the sides out, taped white nylon fabric on the open sides, and bought 5000k florescent light bulbs for the light source. I generally position two lights on both sides, and photo from the top.

Since we are new to photography with an SLR camera, we can’t seem to get the pictures quite ‘right.’ I have been tinkering with the settings, but I have found the best setup to be with the aforementioned lens, a Hoya polarizing filter (to eliminate reflections), and the shutter time around 1 second. I also set the color balance to the white sheet of paper the jewelry sits on. I let the camera set the f stop, which is usually 5.6 or so.