close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

help with dagnosing a gun problem

Discussion in 'Band of Glockers' started by juramentado, Aug 14, 2004.

1. juramentado

juramentado

Forgive me if I make mistakes describing this prob. compared to you guys I'm a total newbie so here goes...

i just went through a few rounds with my Armscor 1911 hi-cap at the PNP range in Crame. I used both the range ammo and my own armscor bullets. I kept having this strange failure to fire, with the slide not completely closing on the round feeding into the chamber. 1/4th of the bullet was still visible. i had to pull the slide back, lock it and take the round out.

It happened quite a few times and I can't say it was caused of the range ammo because it happened with my first few rounds, which are new armscor.

What could be causing this?

2. cebuboy

cebuboy toy soldier

try checking the chamber for gunk, if the gun is new maybe it needs breaking in:) just my .02 centavos

3. Allegra

Allegra

Failure to fire or feeding problem?
    Madami eh
    weak mag springs, too ttight extractors , buntis bala, dirty chamber etc

4. bulm540

bulm540

Check extractor, may have too much tension.

5. mc_oliver

mc_oliver

The above posts have covered a lot already.

To add, the new armscor barrels I've seen have very sharp corners in the chambers and very tight. I suggest polishing inside and very slowly run a 600 grit sand paper sa corners to break it.

If you're not up to it, a smith can do this for you for a very minimal charge. Refuse the initial suggestion (if ever) to ream the chamber "a little."

If you decide the smith route, have him check the lock-up timing. I've seen quite a few stock armscor units with elongated barrel link pins (close to breaking and causing erratic malfs) due to poor fitting. ;)

Good luck.

6. 9MX

9MX Rei!

or pakalikot mo kay mc_o. dremel lang ang katapat niyan;f

7. mc_oliver

mc_oliver