Help! Windows keeps resetting year

Discussion in 'Tech Talk' started by cassandra, Sep 27, 2007.

  1. cassandra

    cassandra

    Messages:
    181
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2007
    Location:
    Montana
    My support contract expired on my Dell and all sorts of things started happening. I get a boot error now that says floppy disk not found - and there is no floppy, hit F1. I went into the menu and tried to take it off startup but it didn't help. So I have to hit F1 to finish booting now.

    Also, it keeps running the year forward so that when I try to sign on to the ISP it says my subscription expired. EVery morning, it's up to 2028 or 2048 or 2009. There doesn't seem to be any rhyme or reason to the reset.

    I scanned for virus and spyware, nothing. Why would these two things happen?
     
  2. vanderson

    vanderson Guest

    Messages:
    103
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2007
    Desktop or Laptop?
     

  3. cassandra

    cassandra

    Messages:
    181
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2007
    Location:
    Montana
    It's a desktop. I'm using Windows XP Pro supposedly but it looks just like XP Home to me.
     
  4. vanderson

    vanderson Guest

    Messages:
    103
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2007
    Try replacing the CMOS battery on the motherboard, that would cause the problems with the date changing. Could also be a surge but I wouldn't know since I am not in front of it.
     
  5. cassandra

    cassandra

    Messages:
    181
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2007
    Location:
    Montana
    OK. does seem like a CMOS problem.

    Thanks
     
  6. vanderson

    vanderson Guest

    Messages:
    103
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2007
    Yeah - if the floppy is still having problems, shouldn't be though, just disconnect or buy a new one if you need it.

    CMOS batteries are so cheap we buy them in bulk 50 for $2.75

    No problem - let me know how it turns out.
     
  7. cassandra

    cassandra

    Messages:
    181
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2007
    Location:
    Montana
    There is no floppy, by the way. so the error makes no sense.

    this all started about 6 weeks ago..
     
  8. vanderson

    vanderson Guest

    Messages:
    103
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2007
    Probably CMOS battery is going or gone and it changed the default BIOS settings, set the default back and put in a new CMOS bat and you are set.
     
  9. vanderson

    vanderson Guest

    Messages:
    103
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2007
    CMOS battery probably changed the settings of the BIOS... hopefully worst case the MOBO is hosed. Hit the defaults on the BIOS and restart and see what happens.

    Or flash the BIOS.