close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

help removing advertising from pc

Discussion in 'Tech Talk' started by Dyno, Dec 11, 2006.

1. Dyno

Dyno

All of a sudden I've got advertising showing on my computer. I can search for something and some related add will open up in an IE window comming from some server. At times the Ad will not be related to what I'm doing or reading. I need advice on what to do as I have no experience with this problem and have little expertice in this area.

My pc uses Win XP HE and NAV 2004. AOL dial-up.

My main concern is that I need to use this pc to pay bills online without having to worry about my personal info being stolen.

Any help will be greatly appreciated.

Best , Dyno

2. IndyGunFreak

IndyGunFreak

First, although I despise Norton, is it up to date? Have you purchased subscription updates to it since 04? So my first suggestion, is dump Norton regardless of wether it is up to date or not.

Second- http://free.grisoft.com/doc/1 - Install AVG Free Virus Scanner and AVG's Free Anti Spyware tool. Probably one of the best Free Virus scanners and spyware tools there is.

Third, which isn't really much of an option since you use AOL(or use this as your invitation to dump AOL).. Dump Internet Explorer and install Firefox or Opera.

http://www.mozilla.com
    http://www.opera.com

That should fix things temporarily, if you want to think Long term, look into Linux.

IGF

3. David_G17

David_G17 /\/\/\/\/\/\/\/

and you should be concerned. Spybot Search & Destroy and Ad-aware are two programs you need (these programs are free). However, you need to download, install and <i>update</I> them before running them. Also, you really should reboot into safe mode before running the programs (press the F8 key when you computer is booting up to enter Safe Mode).

The first thing I would do is go to http://update.microsoft.com and make sure you have the latest updates for Windows.

4. Dyno

Dyno

IndyGunFreak,