Help my sore hand/G43

Discussion in 'GATE Info & Announcements' started by Evil D, Feb 3, 2016.

1. Evil D

Evil D

Hey guys, hope I'm posting this in the right section (this forum has so many categories). First let me say that my background is primarily revolvers and bolt action rifles. I have fired a variety of semi auto pistols, but this is the first that I've ever owned and I've just fired my 1100th round through it (without a single hiccup I might add).

My 43 is wearing a hole in my hand. It doesn't seem to make a difference how I grip, it's probably due to my huge hands and even huger knuckles. Having shot far more revolvers, I tend to naturally go into a Weaver grip, though I have tried pointing both thumbs forward and that seems to make the issue worse (in fact, the first 200 rounds through this gun were shot that way, and that's when all this started).

I eventually had to just stop shooting for a couple weeks to let it heal. Here's the issue...

First time out..
    [​IMG]

Kept breaking open..
    [​IMG]

Finally healed, but check out the size of my thumb knuckle..
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

DNA on the gun (it's been way worse)
    [​IMG]

Is there anything I can do about this? I've worn bandaids over that spot on my hand and that helps, but I'd like to know if this is something I'm doing wrong, my hand/knuckle just sucks, or the gun sucks. I gotta be honest...I can shoot a Shield all day and this doesn't happen...